Skip to main content

Prime Minister (Appointments)

Volume 932: debated on Thursday 19 May 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Prime Minister whether he will list all the public appointments for which he is responsible, the names of the present holders of these appointments and their salaries and allowances.

The list below shows the paid appointments on which it is my duty to advise the Queen. It also includes the Police Complaints Board whose members are appointed by me. The list excludes ministerial and ecclesiastical appointments and also a number of Civil Service appointments whose holders are recruited through normal Civil Service channels. I am also responsible for a number of unpaid appointments, notably to the boards of trustees of certain museums and galleries.


Lords of Appeal in OrdinaryLord Wilberforce21,175
Lord Diplock
Viscount Dilhorne
Lord Simon of Glaisdale
Lord Salmon
Lord Edmund-Davies
Lord Fraser of Tullybelton
Lord Russell of Killowen
Lord Keith of Kinkel
Lord Justices of AppealLord Justice Megaw19,425
Lord Justice Buckley
Lord Justice Stamp
Lord Justice Stephenson
Lord Justice Orr
Lord Justice Roskill
Lord Justice Lawton
Lord Justice Scarman
Lord Justice Ormrod
Lord Justice Browne
Lord Justice Lane
Lord Justice Goff
Lord Justice Bridge
Lord Justice Shaw
Lord Justice Waller
Lord Justice Cumming-Bruce
Lord Justice General and Lord President of the Court of Session in Scotland.Lord Emslie20,425
Lord Justice ClerkLord Wheatley19,300
Comptroller and Auditor-GeneralSir Douglas Henley18,675
Parliamentary Commissioner for AdministrationSir Idwal Pugh18,675
Health Service Commissioner for England, for Scotland and for Wales
Clerk of the ParliamentsSir Peter Henderson18,675
Clerk of the House of CommonsMr. R. D. Barlas18,675
Royal Commission on the Press: Chairman.Professor O. R. McGregorFee of 2,500
Royal Commission on the Distribution of Income and Wealth: ChairmanLord Diamond13,263
MembersSir Neville Butterworth1000
Professor John Greve
Mr. David Lea
Mrs. Dorothy Wedderburn
Professor Sir Henry Phelps Brown
Mr. Roy Cox
Mr. George Doughty
Mr. Deryk Vander Weyer

Police Complaints Board

Deputy ChairmenSir James Waddell8,500
Sir George Ogden
MembersMrs. Rosemary Wolff7,812
Sir Henry BoyneFee of £4 per case and £21 for attendance fee.
Mr. P. G. Clarke
Mr. Colin Gilbraith
Mr. D. G. Haffenden
Mr. G. E. D. Halahan
Sir Frederick Hayday
Mrs. T. O. Kellock
Sir Bernard Ledwidge
Professor Sir Roy Marshall
Mr. J. D. B. Richardson
Dr. James Robinson
Mr. Hugh Sanders
Mrs. J. S. E. Staughton
Mr. P. M. Vine
Mrs. Jean Williams

NOTE: The Chairman, Lord Plowden, does not draw a salary.

First Church Estates CommissionerSir Ronald Harris

Cambridge University

Regius Professor of Modern HistoryThe Reverend Professor W. O. Chadwick
Regius Professor of Civil LawProfessor P. G. Stein
Regis Professor of PhysicProfessor W. J. H. Butterfield
King Edward VII Professor of English LiteratureProfessor J. F. Kermode
Master of Trinity CollegeLord Butler of Saffron Walden
Master of Churchill CollegeProfessor Sir William Hawthorne

Oxford University

Regius Professor of GreekProfessor P. H. J. Lloyd-Jones
Regius Professor of Modern HistoryProfessor H. R. Trever-Roper
Regius Professor of Civil LawProfessor A. M. Honore
Regius Professor of MedicineProfessor Sir Richard Doll
Regius Professor of HebrewProfessor W. D. McHardy
Provost of EtonLord Caccia
Principal of King's College, LondonSir Richard Way

Bank of England

GovernorMr. G. W. H. RichardsonDetails of their re-muneration can be found in the Bank's Annual Report.
Deputy GovernorSir J. Q. Hollom
DirectorsMr. J. S. Fforde
Mr. C. W. McMahon
Mr. J. C. R. Dow
Mr. George Blunden
Lord Nelson of Stafford
Sir Maurice Laing
Lord Robens of Woldingham
Mr. G. A. H. Cadbury
Lord Greene of Harrow Weald
Mr. Leopold de Rothschild
The Viscount Weir
Mr. J. M. Clay
Mr. Hector Laing
Sir Alastair Pilkington
Sir Robert Clark