Skip to main content

Luton (Job Creation Committee)

Volume 940: debated on Thursday 1 December 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Employment if he will indicate the names of those on the local action committee for the Luton area of the job creation scheme.

I am informed by the Manpower Services Commission that Luton is included in the London and South-East area of the job creation programme. The members of the area action committee are as follows:


Sir Denis Barnes, former Chairman of Manpower Services Commission

Local Authority Representatives

S. T. Evans LLB, Chief Executive, South-wark Borough Council

L. K. Robinson LLB, Chief Executive, Hampshire County Council

Employer Representatives

L. H. Secretan, Managing Director, Manpower Limited

D. H. Walker, Personnel Controller, Rank Organisation

P. Bickersteth, Head of Manpower Development, National Freight Corporation

Trade Union Representative

T. E. Pilfold, President, Greater London Trades Council

F. F. Baker, Secretary, South-East Regional Council, TUC

J. Dunn, Chairman, South-East Regional Council, TUC, Kent Area General Secretary, NUM

Voluntary Organisations Representative

S. Abbott MA, Deputy General Secretary, London Council for Social Services.