Skip to main content

Central Transport Consultative Committee

Volume 958: debated on Monday 20 November 1978

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection what is the cost to public funds of the Central Transport Consultative Committee; who are its members; what remuneration they are paid; and what steps are taken to draw the attention of the public to its existence.

The cost to public funds of the Central Transport Consultative Committee for the year 1977–78 was £51,000. The members of the committee are:

  • Mr. W. F. Higgins, (Chairman).
  • Mr. L. V. Pike, MBE, JP.
  • Mr. S. A. Campbell.
  • Mr. C. George, JP.
  • Mr. M. Kellner.
  • Dr. E. C. Midwinter.
  • Mr. P. J. Kenyon.
  • Mr. W. J. Price.
  • Mr. C. L. Ricketts.
  • Mr. M. D. D. Newitt.
  • Professor D. Wiggins.
  • Mr. T. Carbery.
  • Mr. J. C. H. Meakin.
  • Mrs. A. Munro, CBE.
  • Mr. B. S. Jeuda
  • Mr. J. Daly
  • Mr. M. Shapley.
  • Mrs. N. Bloom.
Members of the committee, other than the chairman, are not remunerated but do have their travel and subsistence costs reimbursed. The chairman is paid £1,375 per annum. The CTCC is a national body which concerns itself mainly with broad policy issues. It regularly issues press releases about its activities. Individual complaints are handled by the area transport users' consultative committees which are advertised at all railway stations.