Skip to main content

Economic And Social Committee

Volume 958: debated on Tuesday 21 November 1978

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list in the Official Reportthe names of the United Kingdom nominees to the Economic and Social Committee of the European Communities for the years 1977–78, together with the number of possible and actual attendances over that period at meetings for which expenses were payable.

The names of the United Kingdom members of the Economic and Social Committee in 1977 and until 18th September 1978 are given below. Members are appointed in their personal capacity and may not be bound by any mandatory instructions. Arrangements for meetings of the committee and its sections and the question of attendance at them are not the responsibility of the British Government.ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COMMITTEE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES UK MEMBERSHIP FROM 1ST JANUARY 1977 TO 18TH SEPTEMBER 1978.

Group 1 (Employers)

Mr D. A. Clark—Chief Economist, Imperial Tobacco Group Ltd., Member of CBI Council

Mr. B. R. V. Z. de Ferranti—Director, Ferranti Ltd., ex-Director, ICL Ltd.

Mr. T. W. H. Gailey—Former Chief Executive, National Bus Company

The Marquess of Hamilton—Director, Northern Bank

Mr. C. A. C. Henniker-Heaton, CBE—Consultant to British Textile Employers' Association

Miss Anne Mackie (Until 31st March 1977)—Deputy to Industrial Relations Adviser Unilever.

Replaced by: Mr. S. J. Lawton—Food Manufacturers Federation

Mr. W. G. N. Miller—Executive Director, Save and Prosper Group Ltd.

Mr. M. J. G. Wylie—Director, Matthew Wylie (1972) Ltd. Chairman, Post Office Users' Council for Scotland

Group II (Employees)

Lord Allen of Fallowfield, CBE—Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers

Mr, David Basnett—General Secretary. National Union of General and Municipal Workers

Mr. Reginald Bottini, CBE—General Secretary, National Union of Agricultural and Allied Workers.

Mr. Jack Jones, MBE—General Secretary. Transport and General Workers Union

Mr. Lionel Murray, OBE—General Secretary, Trades Union Congress

Mr. Terence Parry, OBE—General Secretary, Fire Brigades Union. Mrs. C. Patterson, OBE—National Woman Officer Transport and General Workers Union

Mr. M. T. Walsh (Until 31st March 1977)—Assistant Secretary, International Department, Trades Union Congress

Replaced by: Mr. T. Jenkins—International Department Trades Union Congress

Group III (Other Interests)

Mrs. June Evans, OBE—Chairman, Housewives Trust Member, BBC General Advisory Council

Mr. Guy Hunter, CBE—Overseas Development Institute

Sir Patrick McCall, MBE—Formerly Clerk, Lancashire County Council, Police Authority, and Lieutenancy of Lancaster

Sir John Peel, KCVO—Obstetric and Gynaecological Surgeon; Former President, British Medical Association

Mr. Hugh Rees, FRICS, FRVA—Chartered Surveyor, Auctioneer and Estate Agent: Former MP for Swansea West

Miss Eirlys Roberts, OBE—Head of Research and Editor-in-Chief, Consumers' Association

Dr. Albert E. Sloman, Vice-Chancellor, University of Essex

Sir Gwilym Williams, CBE—Former President. National Farmers' Union