Skip to main content

South East Economic Planning Council—Membership 1978

Volume 959: debated on Thursday 30 November 1978

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


Lord Porchester, KBE, DL—Farmer, former Chairman of Hampshire County Council.


* R. C. Allen—Official, National Graphical Association.

* Dr. A. J. R. Anderson—Member, Hertfordshire County Council.

F. F. Baker MBE—Former Secretary, South East Regional Council, TUC.

Miss J. E. Benton—Member, National Executive of the Union of Post Office Workers.

Councillor A. T. Blowers—Member, Bedfordshire CC, Lecturer, Open University.

Colonel S. 0. Briggs—Chairman and Managing Director, Jameson Engineering Ltd.; Chairman of CBI West Surrey Area Committee and Member of CBI Central Council and London and South Eastern Regional Council.

A. T. Brown, CBE—Chief Executive, Oxfordshire CC.

A. J. Coles, MBE—Divisional Organiser, AUEW.

Baroness Evelyn Denington, DBE—Former Chairman GLC Chairman of Stevenage Development Corporation.

Councillor R. W. Dixon-Smith—Farmer, Member, Essex County Council.

* Ms. M. Donnelly—Official, Society of Post Office Executives.

W. R. Doughty—Executive Director, Cape Industries Ltd.; Member of CBI Central Council and London and South Eastern Regional Council.

Councillor E. J. F. Green—Member, West Sussex CC (Former Chairman), Director, various timber firms.

Professor P. G. Hall—Head of Department of Geography, Reading University.

* R. A. Hammond—Divisional Organiser, USDAW.

Councillor N. Howard—Member, GLC Assistant Secretary POEU.

* New Member.

Cllr. D. B. Hoodless—Deputy Leader, Islington BC; Director Circle 33 Housing Trust; Chairman, LBA's Housing and Works Committee.

Cllr. Dr. D. A. Hoyle—Vice-Chairman Woking-ham DC, and Chairman of Policy Committee.

M. L. Kilby—Manager, Project Planning and Government and Trade Relations, General Motors Components—Europe (General Motors Overseas Corporation).

* J. Knapp—Divisional Officer, NUR.

Dr. D. M. A. Leggett—Former Vice-Chancellor of Surrey University.

Dr. G. M. Lomas—General Secretary, London Council of Social Service.

G. Manners—Reader in Geography, London University; Member of Location of Offices Bureau.

* P. D. H. Marsden—Councillor, Havering LB.

* N. N. B. Ordman—Executive Director, PLA; Member, Thames Water Authority.

J. M. A. Paterson, JP—Chairman, Bifurcated Engineering Ltd.; Member of CBI Central Council and Southern Region Council.

Dr. D. A. Quarmby—Member, London Transport Executive (Planning).

P. Readman—Financial Adviser to Commercial Union Assurance Co. Ltd.; Adviser to CPRS.

Cllr. Miss S. Roberts—Member GLC (Chairman Planning and Transportation Committee); Industrial Relations Adviser.

Evelyn de Rothschild—Merchant Banker; Deputy Chairman, Milton Keynes Development Corporation.

* D. J. Sainsbury—Finance Director, J. Sainsbury Ltd.

Prof. P. J. O. Self—Professor of Public Administration; London University.

Sir James Swaffield, CBE—Director General, GLC.

J. A. Wedgwood—Chairman, Southern Electricity Board.

G. J. Yates—Director and Chief Executive, Butterfield Harvey Ltd.; Member of CBI Central Council and London and South Eastern Regional Council.

* New Member.