Skip to main content

Industrial Development Advisory Board

Volume 959: debated on Thursday 30 November 1978

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Industry (1) what powers he has to reverse decisions made by the Industrial Development Advisory Board and in what circumstances he would seek to use such powers;(2) if he will publish in the

Official Report the terms of reference given to the Industrial Development Advisory Board; and whether he is satisfied that it is functioning effectively on behalf of all sectors of industry in an impartial manner.

The Industrial Development Advisory Board was established under section 9 of the Industry Act 1972 to advise the relevant Secretary of State with respect to the exercise of his functions under sections 7 and 8 of that Act. The Board advises against the background of the criteria for assistance to industry, which is a summary of the underlying financial, economic and social principles involved in assessing cases for Government assistance, laid before Parliament on 12th January 1976, and the criteria of individual assistance schemes. The decision whether or not to offer assistance under sections 7 and 8 of the Industry Act lies not with the Industrial Development Advisory Board but with the relevant Secretary of State, although the Board's advice, which has always been impartial in all respects, is of course always valued and taken fully into account.

asked the Secretary of State for Industry if he will list in the Official Report the members of the Industrial Development Advisory Board, together with their declared financial interests.

The members of the Industrial Development Advisory Board hold the following positions:

  • Sir Robert Clark—Chairman:
  • Hill Samuel & Co. Ltd.—and certain of its subsidiaries—Chairman and Chief Executive.
  • Hill Samuel Group—Chairman.
  • Bank of England—Director.
  • Black-Clawson International Ltd.—Director.
  • British Leyland Limited—Director.
  • City & International Trust Ltd.—Director.
  • Eagle Star Insurance Trust—Director.
  • Eagle Star Insurance Co. Ltd.—Director.
  • Hickson & Welch (Holdings) Ltd.—Director.
  • Imperial Metal Industries Ltd.—Director.
  • Marchwiel Holdings Ltd.—Director.
  • Parsons & Whitemore Ltd.—Director.
  • Parsons & Whitemore Lyddon Ltd.—Director.
  • Royal Opera House Trust Ltd.—Director.
  • Sir William Barlow:
  • Post Office—Chairman.
  • Glynwed Ltd.—Director.
  • Royal Worcester Ltd.—Director.
  • The Rt. Hon. Lord Brown, PC:
  • Glacier Metals—Formerly Chairman.
  • D. R. Chilvers:
  • Coopers & Lybrand—Senior Investigation Partner.
  • Sir Campbell Fraser:
  • Dunlop Holdings Ltd.—Chairman and Managing Director.
  • Dunlop Limited—Director.
  • Dunlop International Ltd. and Dunlop Subsidiary Companies—Director.
  • British Petroleum Ltd.—Director.
  • International Synthetic Rubber Co. Ltd.—Director.
  • Scottish Television Ltd.—Chairman.
  • S. T. Graham:
  • Midland Bank Ltd. and certain of its subsidiary companies—Director and Chief General Manager.
  • E. A. Hammond:
  • Electrical Electronic Telecommunication & Plumbing Union (EETPU) — Executive Councillor.
  • C. A. Hogg:
  • Courtaulds Ltd.—Deputy Chairman.
  • British Cellophane Ltd.—Director.
  • Holborn Property Co. Ltd.—Director.
  • Novaceta Spa (Italy)—Director.
  • Wentog Properties Ltd.—Director.
  • Shalimar Paints Ltd. (India)—Director.
  • Cia Mexicana de Pinturas International SA (Mexico)—Director.
  • J. D. Hughes:
  • Ruskin College, Oxford—Vice-Principal.
  • Price Commission—Deputy Chairman.
Estimated cost 1978–79Total allocation
£ million£ million
Drop Forging0·25·0
Instrumentation and Automation2·010·0
Redmeat Slaughterhouse1·120·0
Energy conservation0·725·0

  • S.Thomson:
  • Ford Motor Company Ltd.—Director.
  • Ford Motor Credit Company and its subsidiaries—Director.
  • Ford Tractor (Belgium) Ltd.—Director.
  • Autolite Motor Products Ltd.—Director.
  • Fairlane Motor Hotels Ltd. and its subsidiary company—Director.
  • C. H. Urwin:
  • Transport & General Workers Union—Deputy General Secretary.
  • National Enterprise Board—Member.
  • National Freight Corporation—Member.
  • Manpower Services Commission—Member.

Board members declare any other financial interests in confidence and appropriate arrangements are made to avoid any conflicts of interest.