Skip to main content

Traffic Commissioners (South-West)

Volume 961: debated on Wednesday 31 January 1979

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Transport if he will list the names of the traffic commissioners for the South-West region; when they were appointed, and for what terms; what was their previous experience; and by which councils they were nominated.

The traffic commissioners for the Western traffic area, which equates with the South-West region, are:

NameMaj. Gen Sir John Potter, K.B.E. C.B., F.C.I.T., (Chairman)Count. R. H. Gould.Mr. T. John, O.B.E., J.P.
Date appointed23 January 1973.15 November 1997.15 November 1997
TermUntil retirement.3 years.3 years.
Previous experienceDirector of Supplies and Transport (2 years), Transport Officer in Chief (Army) (1 year), Director of Movement (Army) MOD; 4 years as Chairman of Traffic Commissioners in Yorkshire Traffic Area. (1969–72).Deputy Traffic Commissioner 1974–77. Member of Avon County Council. Solicitor.Deputy Traffic Commissioner 1965–70, Traffic Commissioner since 1971, Member of Stroud UDC 1951–74, Former member of Gloucestershire County Council.
Nominating authorityNone. Direct appointment by my rt. Hon. Friend.Avon County CouncilStroud County Council.