Skip to main content

Crown Estate Commissioners

Volume 972: debated on Tuesday 23 October 1979

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer if he will list in the Official Report the remuneration received by each commissioner of the Crown Estate together with any other benefits received by them arising from their office.

The present annual rates of remuneration of the commissioners are set out below. All commissioners are part-time, except the second Crown Estate commissioner, who is a full-time civil servant at deputy secretary level. The payments to Sir Oliver Chesterton and Mr. Caws include £2,000 a year for the special advice each is able to give because of his professional background.

First Commissioner
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Thomson of Monifieth5,590
Second Commissioner
Mr. J. M. Moore, C.B., D.S.C.20,314
Lord Allen of Fallowfield1,675
Mr. R. B. Caws, F.R.I.C.S.3,675
Sir Oliver Chesterton, M.C., P.P.R.I.C.E.3,675
Mr. o. H. Colburn1,675
Captain I. M. Tennant1,675
Mr. G. D. I. Innes Lillingston1,675
The commissioners receive no other benefit as a result of their office, but travelling and subsistence allowances are paid on the Civil Service scale—class A (i)) in respect of any journeys undertaken on Crown Estate business.