Skip to main content

Overseas Countries (Reciprocal Medical Arrangements)

Volume 978: debated on Monday 4 February 1980

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services if he will list the countries that offer reciprocal medical treatment to citizens of the United Kingdom living or holidaying in those countries.

The United Kingdom has reciprocal arrangements for emergency medical treatment to be provided to United Kingdom visitors to the following:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Channel Islands
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Denmark
  • Finland*
  • France
  • German Democratic Republic
  • German Federal Republic
  • Gibraltar
  • Hungary
  • Irish Republic
  • Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • USSR
  • Yugoslavia
  • *Formal procedures to bring this agreement into operation have not yet been completed.
The reciprocal arrangements with the EEC countries also provide for medical treatment to be available to United Kingdom citizens who are resident in those countries.In a number of countries listed above and others, United Kingdom citizens resident there can secure medical benefits by paying into the insurance schemes of the country.