Skip to main content

Primary Schools

Volume 978: debated on Thursday 14 February 1980

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will list the primary schools in England which have been closed by local authorities in the last five years with his Department's agreement.

I regret that information in the form, and for the period, requested by my hon. Friend could be obtained only at disproportionate cost. Details of approvals in 1978 and 1979 for the closure of primary schools are as follows:1978St. Clement's CE (Controlled) Primary, Salford.Read United Reformed Primary, Lancashire.Wittan CE Primary, Lancashire.Sacred Heart RC Primary, Lancashire.Ladbroke CE (Controlled) Primary, Warwickshire.Ufton CE (Controlled) Primary, Warwickshire.Kirby Bedon County Primary, Norfolk.Denton Controlled Primary, Norfolk.Stow-cum-Quy County Primary, Cambridge-shire.Chantry First and Middle School, Harrow.La Salette RC Primary, ILEA.Radcliffe St. Thomas's CE Primary, Bury.Hoghton CE Primary, Lancashire.Priest Hutton CE Primary, Lancashire.Westby Ballam CE Primary, Lancashire.Borough CE First, Warwickshire.Waddesdon County Primary, Buckingham-shire.Waddesdon CE (Aided) Primary, Bucking-hamshire.Erlestoke CE (Controlled) Primary, Wiltshire.Great Cheverell CE (Aided) Primary, Wiltshire.Great Langton CE Primary, North Yorkshire.Ryther CE Primary, North Yorkshire.Aylmerton County Primary, Norfolk.Bridgham County Primary, Norfolk.Womenswold CE (Controlled) Primary, Kent.Farnworth St. Thomas Primary, Bolton.Denton, Christ Church CE Primary, Tame-side.Croft Junior and Infant, Knowsley.Halewood Macketts County Infant, Knowsley.Daisy Street County Primary, Liverpool.Fonthill Road Junior Mixed and Infant, Liverpool.Moss Bank CE Primary, St. Helens.St. Bride's CE Infant, Trafford.Leigh Butts Methodist Infant, Wigan.Grimston CE (Controlled) Primary, Leicester-shire.St. John's CE Primary, Staffordshire.Shuttington CE (Controlled) First, Warwickshire.Hartshay County Primary, Derbyshire.Etruria County Middle, Staffordshire.Stokesby County Primary, Norfolk.Bracon Ash County Primary, Norfolk.Elslack Primary, North Yorkshire.Bradbury and Mordon CE Junior and Infant, Durham.Lawson Infant, Cleveland.Salford County Primary, Oxfordshire.Clyffe Pypard CE Primary, Wiltshire.

Parton Stoke County Primary, Wiltshire.

Cholderton CE (Aided) Primary, Wiltshire.

Alton Barnes CE (Controlled) Primary, Wiltshire.

Collingbourne Kingston CE (Controlled) Primary, Wiltshire.

Prince Edwin County Infant, Liverpool.

Salisbury County Primary, Liverpool.

Penrhyn County Primary, Liverpool.

Little Lever Congregational Primary, Bolton.

Whitehorse CE Infant, Bolton.

Lovell Park Primary, Leeds.

Eaton Constantine CE (Controlled) Primary, Salop.

Twywell CE (Aided) Primary, Northamptonshire.

Longmoor County Infants, Hampshire.

St. Mary's RC Primary, Lancashire.

St. Ambrose CE Primary, Salford.

Trafford Road County Primary, Salford

Radcliffe Bridge Methodist, Bolton.

Radcliffe New Church Primary, Bolton.

Warmfield (Aided) Primary, Wakefield.

Eggington Infants, Bedfordshire.

Great Plumstead County Primary, Norfolk.

Sloley (Controlled) Primary, Norfolk.

Cattistock (Controlled) Primary, Dorset.

Boscombe St. John's CE (Aided) Primary, Dorset.

Eardisland CE (Controlled) Primary, Hereford and Worcester.

Hamble CE Infants, Hampshire.

Credon County Primary, Newham.

Greengate County Primary, Newham.

Shawell Elkington's Endowed Primary, Leicestershire.

St. Clement's CE (Aided) Primary, Dorset.

North Town County Infants, Somerset.


St. Joseph's RC Infant, Lancashire.

Warrington Parochial Infant, Cheshire.

Aspull CE (Aided) Primary, Wigan.

Aspull Methodist Primary, Wigan.

Aspull St. Elizabeth CE (Aided) Primary, Wigan.

Green Terrace Primary, Sunderland.

Chester Road Junior and Infant, Sunderland.

New Seaham Law Colliery Junior Girls and Infant, Durham.

Chapman Primary, Humberside.

Williamson Primary, Humberside.

Devonshire County Infant, Nottinghamshire.

Stretton-on-Fosse (Controlled) Junior and Infant, Warwickshire.

Castle County Primary, Derby.

St. Mary's CE (Controlled) Primary, Birmingham.

Thornhaugh County Primary, Cambridgeshire.

Edgefield County Primary, Norfolk.

Hilborough (Controlled) Primary, Norfolk.

Newark CE (Controlled) Infant, Cambridgeshire.

St. Paul's CE Primary, ILEA.

Solomon Wolfson Jewish Aided, ILEA

Eridge County Primary, East Sussex

St. John's CE Primary, East Sussex

Wootton Rivers (Controlled) Primary, Wiltshire

Parr Mount CE (Aided) Primary, St. Helens

Kirkby, Quarry Green County Primary, Knowsley

St. Oswald's County Infant, Sefton

Hollywood County Primary, Stockport

Oakenshaw County Primary, Durham

Satley CE (Controlled) Junior and Infant. Durham

Melton Ross CE Primary, Humberside

Muker CE Primary, North Yorkshire

Nunnington CE Primary, North Yorkshire

Bagworth County Primary, Leicestershire

Batham County Primary, Leicestershire

Nailstone County Infant, Leicestershire.

St. Patrick's RC Primary, ILEA

St. Andrew's and St. John's CE Primary, ILEA

Stanhoe (Controlled) Primary, Norfolk

Poulton CE, Gloucestershire

St. Paul's (Aided) Primary, Dorset

Michaelstow County Junior and Infants. Cornwall

Bridgeman Infants, Richmond-on-Thames

St. Catherine Laboure RC (Aided) Primary, ILEA

Melton Mowbray County Infant, Leicestershire

Little Rissington Primary, Wiltshire

Owersby CE (Aided) Primary, Lincolnshire

Brunswick County Infants, Cambridgeshire

Brunswick County Junior, Cambridgeshire

St. Luke's CE Primary, Richmond-on-Thames

St. John's CE Primary, Hillingdon

Acton Wells Combined First and Middle, Ealing

Pateley Bridge County Infants, North Yorkshire

Lawrence County Infant, Cumbria

Brougham County Primary, Cumbria

Lupton CE (Controlled) Primary, Cumbria

High Santwick Primary, Sunderland

West Santwick Primary, Sunderland

Manor County Primary, Nottinghamshire

Sidney Pearson Hill County Primary, Nottinghamshire

Aldsworth Primary, Gloucestershire

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science on how many occasions local education authorities have tried within two years of their previous application to close primary schools for which his Department had not previously accepted closure.

There have been no such proposals since 1 January 1978, although two were resubmitted within three years. I regret that information relating to earlier years could be obtained only at disproportionate cost.