Skip to main content

Departmental Officials (Appointment)

Volume 982: debated on Wednesday 2 April 1980

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Prime Minister (1) if she will publish in the Official Report a list showing the rank, Department and responsibilities of the officials whose appointments she has had to approve since May 1979;(2) if she will publish in the

Official Report a list of the permanent secretaries and deputy secretaries who have been appointed since 3 May 1979; and whether any political tests have been imposed on appointees.

Since May 1979 the following Civil Service appointments, already announced, have been approved by me. No political tests were applied.





Sir R. ArmstrongPermanent SecretaryCabinet OfficeSecretary of the Cabinet
Sir B. CubbonPermanent SecretaryHome OfficeHead of Department
K. R. StowePermanent SecretaryNorthern Ireland OfficeHead of Department
Sir M. OldfieldPermanent SecretaryNorthern Ireland OfficeSecurity Co-ordinator
Sir K. ClucasPermanent SecretaryDepartment of TradeHead of amalgamated Departments of Trade and Consumer Protection
D. CardwellPermanent SecretaryMinistry of DefenceChief of Defence Procurement
R.IbbsPermanent SecretaryCabinet OfficeHead of the Central Policy Review Staff
Sir L. AireyPermanent SecretaryInland RevenueHead of Department
G. J. OttonSecond Permanent SecretaryDepartment of Health and Social SecuritySocial Security Administration
T. BurnsSecond Permanent SecretaryTreasuryHead of Government Economic Service and Chief Economic Adviser
W. S. RyrieSecond Permanent SecretaryTreasuryHead of Domestic Economy Sector
J. W. StacpooleDeputy SecretaryDepartment of Health and Social SecurityPolicy on Supplementary Benefits and Family Support
D. B. SmithDeputy SecretaryDepartment of EmploymentIncomes Policy; Industrial Relations; Information
J. A. MarshallDeputy SecretaryNorthern Ireland OfficeHead of London Office
J. F. BarnesDeputy SecretaryMinistry of DefenceDeputy Chief Scientific Adviser (Projects)
R. C. M. CooperDeputy SecretaryDepartments of Trade and IndustryPrincipal Establishment Officer and Principal Finance Officer
E. J. D. WarneDeputy SecretaryOffice of Fair TradingDeputy Director General
A. G. ManzieDeputy SecretaryDepartment of IndustryHead of Industrial Development Unit
J. G. KelseyDeputy SecretaryMinistry of Agriculture, Fisheries and FoodFisheries and Food Policy
D. J. S. HancockDeputy SecretaryTreasuryOverseas Finance Policy
P. E. MiddletonDeputy SecretaryTreasuryCounter Inflation and Public Finance Policy
J. CainesDeputy SecretaryDepartment of TradePolicy on Commercial Relations with Individual Countries and Related Groupings
G. L. J. EngleSecond Parliamentary CounselParliamentary CounselSecond Parliamentary Counsel
Miss S. P. BurnsParliamentary CounselOffice of Parliamentary CounselParliamentary Counsel
J. S. MasonParliamentary CounselOffice of Parliamentary CounselParliamentary Counsel
*E. J. MorganUnder SecretaryCivil Service DepartmentCivil Service Commissioner
*N. E. GodfreyUnder SecretaryCustoms and ExciseHead of General Customs Directorate
*Miss V. StrachanUnder SecretaryCustoms and ExciseCommissioner, Revenue Duties Directorate
*Mrs. M. E. SunderlandPart-time Civil Service Commissioner
* These appointments were approved by Her Majesty the Queen on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

As far as special, political or policy advisers are concerned, I refer the hon. Member to the answer given by my hon. Friend the Minister of State, Civil Service Department to the hon. Member for Blackburn (Mr. Straw) on 5 February 1980.