Skip to main content

Council Of Europe (Consultative Assembly)

Volume 982: debated on Wednesday 16 April 1980

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Prime Minister if she will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation to the Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe will be meeting in Strasbourg from 21–25 April. I have appointed 18 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of the parties concerned.The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union.Representatives from the Government Benches will be:—

  • The hon. Member for Torbay (Sir Frederic Bennett), who will act as Leader.
  • The hon. Members for:—Stroud (Mr. Kershaw)
  • Norfolk, South-West (Mr. Hawkins)
  • Harrow, Central (Mr. Grant)
  • Woking (Mr. Onslow)
  • Solihull (Mr. Grieve)
  • Harrow, West (Mr. Page)
  • Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)
  • Edgbaston (Mrs. Knight) and the Lord Reay

Representatives from the Labour Party will be:—

  • The right hon. Members for:—
  • Houghton-le-Spring (Mr. Urwin)
  • Sheffield, Park (Mr. Mulley)
  • and the hon. Members for:—
  • East Kilbride (Dr. Miller)
  • Ince (Mr. McGuire)
  • Rother Valley (Mr. Hardy)
  • Tooting (Mr. Cox)
  • and the Lord Hughes

The representatives from the Liberal Party will be:—

  • The hon. Member for:—
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed (Mr. Beith)

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:—

  • From the Government Benches:—
  • The hon. Members for:—
  • Southampton, Test (Mr. Hill)
  • Warwick and Leamington (Mr. Smith)
  • Ruislip-Northwood (Mr. Wilkinson)
  • Sudbury and Woodbridge (Mr. Stainton)
  • Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson)
  • Hallam (Mr. Osborn)
  • Harrogate (Mr. Banks)
  • and the Lord Duncan-Sandys

From the Labour Party:—

  • The hon. Members for:—
  • Wolverhampton, South-East
  • (Mr. Edwards)
  • Wallsend (Mr. Garrett)
  • Ayrshire, South (Mr. Foulkes)
  • Warrington (Sir Tom Williams)
  • Ilkeston (Mr. Fletcher)
  • Hackney, South and Shoreditch
  • (Mr. Brown)
  • Brent, South (Mr. Pavitt)
  • Wrexham (Mr. Ellis)
  • and the Lord Northfield

From the Liberal Party:—

The Lord McNair