Skip to main content

Associate Status (Applications)

Volume 15: debated on Wednesday 16 December 1981

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Lord Privy Seal whether any application for associate status has been made to the European Economic Community within the last 12 months.

No. Only three countries have individual association agreements with the Community: Turkey, Malta and Cyprus. There is a range of Community agreements with other third countries which provide preferential trade access to the Community market; that is those with the EFTA countries and Spain, the Maghreb and Mashraq countries, Israel, Yugoslavia and the developing countries of Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Two newly independent countries, Belize and Antigua, have this year applied to accede to the second Lomé convention. The applications have been approved in principle.