Skip to main content

Housing Improvement Grants

Volume 22: debated on Thursday 22 April 1982

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Wales what additional allocations are being made to local authorities in Wales to meet the cost of increasing the level of improvement grants which are approved following the new grant levels announced in the Budget Statement; and if he will make a statement.

Following the Chancellor's Budget Statement, an additional £4·8 million has been made available for home improvement grants in Wales in 1982–83. Bids for these resources were invited from all local authorities by 8 April. Authorities have received their provisional allocations today, details of which are listed below. The order increasing the rate of grant to 90 per cent. for intermediate and repairs grant applications made before 31 December 1982 was appoved by the House on 8 April and came into effect on 13 April. We shall be monitoring progress closely, but the present indications are that there will be a strong demand from householders for the additional resources for home improvement, which we want to see being fully utilised.

Rounded-up Allocation Including HIS
Aberconwy BC194,000(2,000)
Afan BC2,000(1,450)
Alyn and Deeside DC34,000(2,640)
Arfon DC356,000(15,000)
Blaenau Gwent BC601,000(10,000)

Brecknock DC23,000(1,100)
Cardiff CC457,000(19,000)
Carmarthen DC83,000
Ceredigion DC59,000(1,500)
Colwyn Bay BC22,000(3,700)
Cynon Valley BC160,000(20,000)
Delyn DC71,000(5,000)
Dinefwr B.C.40,000(1,200)
Dwyfor DC29,000(3,000)
Glyndwr DC11,000(1,300)
Islwyn DC115,000(4,800)
Llanelli BC50,000(5,800)
Lliw Valley BC396,000(1,500)
Meirionnydd DC89,000(1,500)
Merthyr Tydfil BC175,000(2,000)
Monmouth DC107,000(1,117)
Montgomery DC32,000(2,500)
Neath BC184,000(4,000)
Newport BC146,000(15,000)
Ogwr DC77,000(15,646)
Preseli DC23,000
Radnor DC176,000(500)
Rhondda BC156,000(11,000)
Rhuddlan DC3,000(2,000)
Rhymney Valley DC230,000(7,000)
South Pembrokeshire DC15,000(1,200)
Swansea CC300,000(15,000)
Taff Ely BC200,000(5,000)
Torfaen BC32,000(3,000)
Vale of Glamorgan BC72,000(2,700)
Wrexham Maelor BC36,000(6,000)
Ynys Mon BC111,000(1,500)