Skip to main content

Council Of Europe

Volume 22: debated on Friday 23 April 1982

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Prime Minister if she will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation to the parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe will be meeting in Strasbourg from 26 to 30 April. I have appointed 18 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The delegation this year will consist of 10 members of the Conservative Party, seven members of the Labour Party and one member of the Liberal Party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of those parties concerned. The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union.Representatives from the Government Benches will be as follows:

  • The hon. Member for Torbay (Sir F. Bennett), who will act as leader.
  • The hon. Members for
    • Harrow, Central (Mr. Grant)
    • Solihull (Mr. Grieve)
    • Norfolk, South-West (Mr. Hawkins)
    • Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)
    • Southampton, Test (Mr. Hill)
    • Birmingham, Edgbaston (Mrs. Knight)
    • Harrow, West (Mr. Page)
    • Ruislip-Northwood (Mr. Wilkinson) and the Lord Reay

Representatives from the Labour Party will be as follows:

  • The right hon. Members for
    • Houghton-le-Spring (Mr. Urwin)
    • Sheffield, Park (Mr. Mulley)
  • The hon. Members for
    • Tooting (Mr. Cox)
    • Rother Valley (Mr. Hardy)
    • East Kilbride (Dr. Miller)
    • Ince (Mr. McGuire) and the Lord Hughes
    • The representative from the Liberal Party will be
    • The hon. Member for Berwick-upon-Tweed (Mr. Beith)

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches:

  • The hon. Members for
    • Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson)
    • Norfolk, North (Mr. Howell)
    • Aberdeenshire, West (Sir R. Fairgrieve)
    • Sheffield, Hallam (Mr. Osborn)
    • Warwick and Leamington (Mr. Smith)
    • Sudbury and Woodbridge (Mr. Stainton)
    • Reading, North (Mr. Durant) and the Lord Duncan-Sandys

From the Labour Party:

  • The right hon. and learned Member for Aberavon (Mr. Morris)
  • The hon. Members for
    • Brent, South (Mr. Pavitt)
    • Kirkcaldy (Mr. Gourlay)
    • Wolverhampton, South-East (Mr. Edwards)
    • Wallsend (Mr. Garrett)
    • Manchester, Blackley (Mr. Eastham)
    • Ilkeston (Mr. Fletcher) and the Lord Northfield

From the Liberal Party:

  • The Lord McNair

From the Social Democratic Party:

  • The hon. Member for Hackney, South and Shoreditch (Mr. Brown)