Skip to main content

United Kingdom Dependencies

Volume 23: debated on Monday 10 May 1982

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will publish a list of the United Kingdom's dependencies.

The remaining dependent territories are:

  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands and Dependencies
  • Gibraltar
  • Hong Kong
  • Montserrat
  • Picairn Group of Islands
  • St. Helena and Dependencies
  • Turks and Caicos Islands.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what is the population of each of the United Kingdom's dependencies; and how much aid was given in 1979, 1980 and 1981 to each dependency both directly as grant aid and indirectly as technical aid.






Financial Aid

Technical Co-operation

Financial Aid

Technical Co-operation

Falkland Islands1,800


Hong Kong5,150,000185376
St. Helena and dependencies6,5003,5533823,279516
Turks and Caicos Islands7,500848167849412

*includes £5,000 loan.

†includes £30,000 loan.

The aid figures for 1981 are not yet available.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will publish a list of the most recent visits by (a) Ministers and (b) officials normally based in the United Kingdom to each dependency; and when is the expected next visit by Ministers or United Kingdom based officials to each dependency.

Most recent visits since the end of 1980 are as follows:

(a) By Ministers(b) By Officials
Minister for Overseas DevelopmentFCO Official
AnguillaMay 1982March 1982
Prime MinisterFCO official
BermudaOctober 1981February 1982
British Antarctic TerritoryDirector, British Antarctic Survey February 1982
British Indian Ocean Territory
FCO official
British Virgin IslandsApril 1982
ODA official
Cayman IslandsMarch 1982
Minister of State, FCOFCO official
Falkland IslandsDecember 1980June 1981
MOD official
GibraltarApril 1982
Minister of State, (Armed Forces)FCO official
Hong KongMarch 1982April 1982
Minister of Overseas DevelopmentFCO official
MontserratMay 1982March 1982
St. Helena and DependenciesFCO Official February 1982 (Ascension)
Minister of OverseasFCO officials
Turks and Caicos IslandsDevelopment April 1982February 1982
The next estimated visits by Ministers and officials are as follows:

(a) By Ministers

(b) By Officials

AnguillaNot yet decidedNot yet decided
BermudaNot yet decidedNote yet decided
British Antarctic TerritoryNot yet decided
British Indian Ocean TerritoryNot yet decided
FCO official
British Virgin IslandsNot yet decidedJune 1982
Cayman IslandsNot yet decidedNot yet decided
Falkland Islands
GibraltarNot yet decidedNot yet decided
Prime MinisterBOTB official
Hong KongSeptember 1982June 1982
ODA official
MontserratNot yet decidedJuly 1982
St. Helena and DependenciesFCO/ODA Officials June 1982
Turks and Caicos IslandsNot yet decidedODA Officials June 1982

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs how many of his Department's staff responsible for each of the United Kingdom's dependencies are normally resident (a) in the United Kingdom, (b) in the dependency and (c) elsewhere.

There are 43 Diplomatic Service staff in London dealing with dependent territory matters. There are 14 Diplomatic Service officers serving in dependent territories administrations, as follows:

Anguilla (1), Bermuda (2), Gibraltar (2), Hong Kong (4), St. Helena and dependencies (4), Turks and Caicos (1). There were also three officers in the Falkland Islands. In addition, the British High Commissioner in New Zealand, resident in Wellington, is concurrently non-resident governor of the Pitcairn Group of Islands.