Skip to main content

Audit Commission

Volume 33: debated on Friday 3 December 1982

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment what arrangements he has made for consultation with the appropriate bodies on the membership of the Audit Commission.

I have now written to the local authority associations, the Greater London Council, the Trades Union Congress, the Confederation of British Industry and the Consultative Committee of Accountancy Bodies, inviting their views on the following list of proposed members:


Mr. John L. Read, Chairman, The Lep Group plc.


Sir Lawrie Barratt, Chairman and Managing Director, Barratt Development plc.
Sir Kenneth Bond FCA, Deputy Managing Director, General Electric Company plc.
Mr. P. S. Bowness, Leader, London Borough of Croydon;
Chairman, London Boroughs Association.
Mr. K. J. Bridge CIPFA, Chief Executive, Humberside County Council.
Mr. I. D. Coutts FCA, Member, Norfolk County Council; Chairman, Association of County Councils Finance Committee.
Mr. I. F. H. Davison FCA, Senior Partner, Arthur Anderson & Co.; Chairman, Accounting Standards Committee.
Mr. G. A. Drain CBE JP, General Secretary, National and Local Government Officers' Association.
Mr. D. H. Fisher IPFA, Chairman, Wales region, British Gas Corporation.
Professor C. D. Foster, Director and Head of Economics and Public Policy Division, Coopers and Lybrand.
Mr. J. Gunnell, Leader, West Yorkshire Metropolitan County Council.
Mr. N. P Hepworth OBE IPFA DPA, Director, Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy.
Mr. P. F. Kimmance CB, Chief Inspector of Audit.
Mr. D. Lees FCA, Finance Director, Guest, Keen & Nettlefold plc.
Mr. I. S. McCallum, Member, Woking Borough Council; Chairman, Association of District Councils.
Mr. R. E. Shaw, Member, London Borough of Camden; Vice Chairman, Association of Metropolitan Authorities.