Skip to main content

Conwy Tunnel (Supplementary Powers) Bill

Volume 33: debated on Monday 6 December 1982

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

Order for Second Reading read.

Motion made, and Question put forthwith, pursuant to Standing Order No. 72 (Welsh Grand Committee), That the Bill be now read a Second time.

Question agreed to.

Bill accordingly read a Second time.


That the Bill be committed to a Select Committee of Seven Members, Four to be nominated by the House and Three by the Committee of Selection.


That there shall stand referred to the Select Committee—
  • (a) any Petition against the Bill presented by being deposited in the Private Bill Office not later than 13th December 1982, and
  • (b) any Petition which has been presented by being deposited in the Private Bill Office and in which the Petitioners complain of any amendment as proposed in the filled-up Bill or of any matter which has arisen during the progress of the Bill before the said Committee,
  • being a Petition in which the Petitioners pray to be heard by themselves, their Counsel or Agents.


    That if no such Petition as is mentioned in sub-paragraph (a) above is presented, or if all such Petitions are withdrawn before the meeting of the Committee, the order for the commital of the Bill to a Select Committee shall be discharged and the Bill shall be committed to a Standing Committee.


    Than any Petitioner whose Petition stands referred to the Select Committee shall, subject to the Rules and Orders of the House and to the Prayer of his Petition, be entitled to be heard by himself, his Counsel or Agents upon his Petition provided that it is prepared and signed in conformity with the Rules and Orders of the House, and the Members in charge of the Bill shall be entitled to be heard by his Counsel or Agents in favour of the Bill against that Petition.


    That the Committee have power to report from day to day the Minutes of Evidence taken before them.


    That Three be the Quorum of the Committee.—[Mr. Cope.]