Skip to main content

Hackney Carriage (Conditions Of Fitness)

Volume 76: debated on Wednesday 3 April 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Transport which district councils have adopted the hackney carriage conditions of fitness.

In England (outside London) and Wales hackney carriages are licensed by district councils, and it is for these authorities to determine the conditions to be attached to such licences. No central record is kept but I understand that the following 30 district councils have adopted the metropolitan conditions of fitness for hackney carriages.

Metropolitan District Councils

  • Birmingham
  • Bolton
  • Coventry
  • Knowsley
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester
  • Salford
  • Sheffield
  • Solihull
  • Stockport
  • Trafford
  • Walsall
  • Wolverhampton
  • Wirral

Non-Metropolitan District Councils

  • Alyn and Deeside
  • Chester
  • Corby
  • Dartford
  • Ellesmere Port
  • Halton
  • Harlow
  • Northampton
  • Norwich
  • Plymouth
  • Preston
  • Shrewsbury
  • Swansea
  • Three Rivers
  • West Lancashire
  • Wrekin