Skip to main content


Volume 77: debated on Monday 15 April 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Employment if he will state, when selecting Carlisle as a core travel-to-work area, which wards were (a) in stage 2 grouped to form job foci, (b) in stage 3 grouped round these foci and what foci were grouped together to form proto travel-to-work areas, (c) added to the proto travel-towork areas in stage 4 and (d) in stage 5 allocated to the remaining area with which they had the closest community link.

The review of travel-to-work areas conducted last year identified six job foci in the Carlisle travel-to-work area. These were:

  • (i) The Wigton ward of Allerdale
  • (ii) Wards 2, 6, 7 and 13 of Carlisle
  • (iii) Ward 12 of Carlisle
  • (iv) Ward 15 of Carlisle
  • (v) Ward 17 of Carlisle, and
  • (vi) Ward 18 of Carlisle.
  • The next stage resulted in four proto travel-to-work areas:

  • (i) Wampool and Wigton wards of Allerdale
  • (ii) Wards 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 13 of Carlisle
  • (iii) Warnell ward of Allerdale, Wards 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19 and 20 of Carlisle and the Hesket ward of Eden, and
  • (iv) Ward 18 of Carlisle.
  • Stage four of the algorithm used in the review added wards to the first two of these areas; Waver and Boltons wards of Allerdale were added to the first area while Silloth and Marsh wards of Allerdale were added to the second area.

    The reallocation in the fifth stage of the algorithm resulted in the Carlisle travel-to-work area which consists of the district of Carlisle plus the Boltons, Marsh, Silloth, Wampool, Warnell, Waver and Wigton wards of Allerdale.