Skip to main content

Inquiries Held By Traffic Commissioners

Volume 79: debated on Tuesday 21 May 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

I beg to move amendment No. 5, in page 4, line 28, after 'enactment', insert 'mentioned in subsection (6) below.'.

With this it will be convenient to take Government Amendments Nos. 6 and 7.

The purpose of the amendment is to restrict the disclosure of commercially confidential matters to purposes not directly related to PSV operator licensing. This again I think will not be controversial. It is largely a technicality.

Why is the Minister satisfied, as he appears to be in amendment No. 7, that it will be appropriate to deal with these matters by way of negative instrument?

"The Secretary of State may by order"
add a reference to other enactments or remove it by use of the negative procedure. We are all aware how deficient that procedure is and how little opportunity it allows to hon. Members to raise matters. Can the Minister say why he is satisfied that it is adequate in the circumstances?

It is not a matter of major substance, and therefore it is not of such a nature that one would normally expect to deal with it in any other way.

Amendment agreed to.

Amendment made: No. 6, in page 4, line 31, after 'any', insert 'such'.— [Mr. David Mitchell.]

Amendment proposed: No. 7, in page 4, line 37, at end insert—

'(6) The enactments referred to in subsection (5) (b) and (c) above are—
  • (a) sections 12 to 21 of this Act; and
  • (b) sections 22 to 25 of the Transport Act 1985.
  • (7) The Secretary of State may by order made by statutory instrument amend subsection (6) above by adding a reference to an enactment or by removing any such reference: and any statutory instrument made in exercise of the power conferred by this subsection shall be subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of either House of Parliament.'.— [Mr. David Mitchell.]

    Question put, That the amendment be made:—

    The House divided: Ayes 193, Noes 19.

    Division No. 217]

    [10.10 pm


    Aitken, JonathanBrandon-Bravo, Martin
    Amess, DavidBright, Graham
    Ancram, MichaelBrinton, Tim
    Ashby, DavidBrooke, Hon Peter
    Baldry, TonyBrown, M. (Brigg & Cl'thpes)
    Beggs, RoyBuchanan-Smith, Rt Hon A.
    Bellingham, HenryBulmer, Esmond
    Bendall, VivianBurt, Alistair
    Bevan, David GilroyButler, Hon Adam
    Biffen, Rt Hon JohnButterfill, John
    Blackburn, JohnCarlisle, John (N Luton)
    Bonsor, Sir NicholasCarlisle, Rt Hon M. (W'ton S)
    Boscawen, Hon RobertCarttiss, Michael
    Bottomley, Mrs VirginiaCash, William
    Bowden, A. (Brighton K'to'n)Chapman, Sydney
    Bowden, Gerald (Dulwich)Churchill, W. S.
    Braine, Rt Hon Sir BernardClarke, Rt Hon K. (Rushcliffe)

    Clegg, Sir WalterLord, Michael
    Cockeram, EricMcCrindle, Robert
    Colvin, MichaelMcCurley, Mrs Anna
    Coombs, SimonMacfarlane, Neil
    Currie, Mrs EdwinaMacGregor, John
    Dickens, GeoffreyMacKay, John (Argyll & Bute)
    Dorrell, StephenMaclean, David John
    Douglas-Hamilton, Lord J.Major, John
    Dover, DenMalins, Humfrey
    Dunn, RobertMarland, Paul
    Durant, TonyMarshall, Michael (Arundel)
    Eggar, TimMaude, Hon Francis
    Emery. Sir PeterMaxwell-Hyslop, Robin
    Evennett, DavidMayhew, Sir Patrick
    Eyre, Sir ReginaldMerchant, Piers
    Fallon, MichaelMeyer, Sir Anthony
    Favell, AnthonyMills, lain (Meriden)
    Fenner, Mrs PeggyMiscampbell, Norman
    Fletcher, AlexanderMitchell, David (NW Hants)
    Fookes, Miss JanetMoate, Roger
    Forsyth, Michael (Stirling)Monro, Sir Hector
    Forth, EricMontgomery, Sir Fergus
    Franks, CecilMorrison, Hon C. (Devizes)
    Freeman, RogerMorrison, Hon P. (Chester)
    Fry, PeterMoynihan, Hon C.
    Gale, RogerMurphy, Christopher
    Gardner, Sir Edward (Fylde)Neale, Gerrard
    Garel-Jones, TristanNelson, Anthony
    Goodhart, Sir PhilipNeubert, Michael
    Gorst, JohnNicholls, Patrick
    Gower. Sir RaymondNormanton, Tom
    Greenway, HarryNorris, Steven
    Gregory, ConalOsborn, Sir John
    Griffiths, E. (B'y St Edm'ds)Ottaway, Richard
    Griffiths, Peter (Portsm'th N)Page, Richard (Herts SW)
    Grist, IanParkinson, Rt Hon Cecil
    Hamilton, Neil (Tatton)Parris, Matthew
    Hanley. JeremyPatten, J. (Oxf W & Abdgn)
    Hargreaves, KennethPattie, Geoffrey
    Harris, DavidPeacock, Mrs Elizabeth
    Harvey. RobertPercival, Rt Hon Sir Ian
    Haselhurst, AlanPollock, Alexander
    Havers, Rt Hon Sir MichaelPortillo, Michael
    Hawksley, WarrenPowell, William (Corby)
    Hayes, J.Powley, John
    Hayhoe, BarneyPrice, Sir David
    Hayward, RobertProctor, K. Harvey
    Heddle, JohnRaffan, Keith
    Henderson, BarryRathbone, Tim
    Hicks, RobertRhodes James, Robert
    Hind, KennethRhys Williams, Sir Brandon
    Hirst, MichaelRidley, Rt Hon Nicholas
    Hogg, Hon Douglas (Gr'th'm)Roe, Mrs Marion
    Holland, Sir Philip (Gedling)Rumbold, Mrs Angela
    Holt, RichardSackville, Hon Thomas
    Howard, MichaelSainsbury, Hon Timothy
    Howarth, Alan (Stratf'd-on-A)Shaw, Giles (Pudsey)
    Howarth, Gerald (Cannock)Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)
    Howell, Ralph (N Norfolk)Silvester, Fred
    Hubbard-Miles, PeterSims, Roger
    Hunt, David (Wirral)Skeet, T. H. H.
    Jackson, RobertSmith, Tim (Beaconsfield)
    Jenkin, Rt Hon PatrickSpicer, Michael (S Worcs)
    Jones, Gwilym (Cardiff N)Steen, Anthony
    Jones, Robert (W Herts)Stern, Michael
    Kellett-Bowman, Mrs ElaineStewart, Andrew (Sherwood)
    Kershaw, Sir AnthonySumberg, David
    Key, RobertThomas, Rt Hon Peter
    King, Roger (B'ham N'field)Thompson, Donald (Calder V)
    King, Rt Hon TomTownsend, Cyril D. (B'heath)
    Knight, Gregory (Derby N)van Straubenzee, Sir W.
    Knox, DavidVaughan, Sir Gerard
    Lang, IanViggers, Peter
    Lawler, GeoffreyWalker, Bill (T'side N)
    Lawrence, IvanWall, Sir Patrick
    Leigh, Edward (Gainsbor'gh)Watson, John
    Lester, JimWatts, John
    Lightbown, DavidWiggin, Jerry
    Lilley, PeterWood, Timothy

    Yeo, TimMr. Mark Lennox-Boyd and
    Mr. Peter Lloyd.
    Tellers for the Ayes:


    Canavan, DennisRoss, Stephen (Isle of Wight)
    Carlile, Alexander (Montg'y)Skinner, Dennis
    Cartwright, JohnStewart, Rt Hon D. (W Isies)
    Hancock, Mr. MichaelWallace, James
    Howells, GeraintWeetch, Ken
    Hughes, Simon (Southwark)Wigley, Dafydd
    Kennedy, CharlesWilson, Gordon
    Kirkwood, Archy
    Madden, MaxTellers for the Noes:
    Meadowcroft, MichaelMr. A. J. Beith and
    Owen, Rt Hon Dr DavidMr. Malcolm Bruce.
    Penhaligon, David

    Question accordingly agreed to.