Skip to main content

Diplomatic Relations

Volume 81: debated on Wednesday 19 June 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list the names of those states and territories which are either not officially recognised by the United Kingdom or with which Her Majesty's Government does not have diplomatic relations.

We do not have diplomatic relations with the following states:

  • The People's Socialist Republic of Albania
  • The Argentine Republic
  • Cambodia
  • The Republic of Guatemala
  • Libya
We do not have diplomatic relations with the kingdom of Bhutan but maintain friendly contacts and conduct official business with its embassy in New Delhi.We have only consular relations with the following states:

  • Andorra
  • San Marino
  • Monaco
  • Liechtenstein

The following, among others, are sometimes referred to as independent sovereign states but are not recognised as such by Her Majesty's Government:

  • North Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
  • Transkei or any of the other Black Homelands established in South Africa