Skip to main content

Trade Union Rule Books

Volume 86: debated on Monday 11 November 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Paymaster General what information he has as to which trade unions have altered their rule books to comply with the Government's trade union legislation since 1979.

Trade unions wishing to retain political funds must test membership support through ballots conducted in accordance with rules approved by the certification officer. The following unions have had such rules approved:

  • Association of Cinematograph Television and Allied Technicians
  • Association of Professional Executive Clerical and Computer Staff
  • Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers and Firemen
  • Association of Scientific Technical and Managerial Staffs
  • Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers
  • Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union
  • Confederation of Health Service Employees
  • Electrical Electronic Telecommunication and Plumbing Union
  • Furniture Timber and Allied Trades Union
  • General Municipal Boilermakers and Allied Trades Union
  • Iron and Steel Trades Confederation
  • Musicians Union
  • National Communications Union
  • National Graphical Association
  • National Union of Blind and Disabled
  • National Union of Domestic Appliances and General Operatives
  • National Union of Footwear Leather and Allied Trades
  • National Union of Public Employees
  • National Union of Railwaymen
  • National Union of Scalemakers
  • National Union of Seamen
  • National Union of Tailors and Garment Workers
  • Power Loom, Carpet Weavers and Textile Workers Union
  • Society of Graphical and Allied Trades (1982)
  • Technical Administrative and Supervisory Section
  • Tobacco Workers Union
  • Transport and General Workers Union
  • Transport Salaried Staffs Association
  • Union of Communication Workers
  • Union of Construction Allied Trades and Technicians
  • Union of Shop Distributive and Allied Workers
Apart from this, the requirements imposed on trade unions by the 1980 and 1982 Employment Acts and the Trade Union Act 1984 apply whether or not their rule books have been amended to take them into account. Most rule books are silent on questions like, for example, ballots before strikes and neither prevent unions from complying with the legislation nor in themselves require them to do so. In practice, rule changes are only likely to be adopted to give effect to the election provisions of the 1984 Act, which came into force on 1 October. A number of unions have reportedly decided to make changes in their rule books to comply with these provisions. These are listed as follows. Others are considering changes. For some unions no changes will be necessary:

  • Association of Professional Executive Clerical and Computer Staff (APEX)
  • Association of Scientific, Technical and Managerial Staffs (ASTMS)
  • Amalgamated Society of Textile Workers and Kindred Trades
  • British Association of Colliery Management (BACM)
  • British Airline Pilots Association (BALPA)
  • British Medical Association (BMA)
  • Clearing Bank Union (CBU)
  • Engineers and Managers Association (EMA)
  • Electrical Power Engineers Association (EPEA)
  • National Association of Colliery Overmen, Deputies and Shotfirers (NACODS)
  • National Association of Probation Officers (NAPO)
  • National Association of Teachers in Further and Higher Education (NATFHE)
  • National Communications Union (NCU)
  • Natwest Staff Association
  • Transport Salaried Staff Association (TSSA)
  • Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians (UCATT)