Skip to main content

Human Rights

Volume 86: debated on Thursday 14 November 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list the countries which have adopted the right of individual petition under the European convention on human rights and the dates at which they made their adoption.

The countries are:

CountryOriginal date of adoption
Austria3 September 1958
Belgium5 July 1955
Denmark13 April 1953
France2 October 1981
Federal Republic of Germany5 July 1955
Iceland29 March 1955
Ireland25 November 1953
Italy1 August 1973
Liechtenstein8 September 1982
Luxembourg28 April 1958
Netherlands28 June 1960
Norway13 December 1955
Portugal9 November 1978
Spain1 July 1983
Sweden4 February 1952
Switzerland28 November 1974
United Kingdom14 January 1966