Skip to main content

Bases And Facilities

Volume 87: debated on Wednesday 27 November 1985

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Defence (1) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all United States non-nuclear bases in the United Kingdom and (b) all United Kingdom non-nuclear bases in the United Kingdom;(2) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of

(a) all Royal Air Force facilities in the United Kingdom and (b) all United States bases and facilities in the United Kingdom;

(3) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all royal ordnance factories, (b) all royal dockyards and (c) all Ministry of Defence facilities, itemising them also;

(4) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all Army barracks and (b) all Royal Navy bases in the United Kingdom.

[pursuant to his reply, 19 November 1985, c. 199]: The following bases and facilities have been made available for use by United States forces in the United Kingdom. It is a longstanding convention of this and previous Governments not to confirm or deny the presence of nuclear weapons at any location; accordingly, the role of bases and facilities are not specified in this respect.

Main Operating Base
RAF AlconburyHuntingdon
RAF BentwatersSuffolk, Coastal
RAF FairfordCirencester and Tewkesbury
RAF LakenheathBury St. Edmunds
RAF MildenhallBury St. Edmunds
RAF Upper HeyfordBanbury
RAF WoodbridgeSuffolk, Coastal
Holy LochArgyll and Bute
Standby Deployment Bases
RAF Greenham Common(1)Newbury
RAF ScunthorpeNorfolk, North
RAF WethersfieldBraintree
Storage/Support Facilities
RAF BicesterBanbury
RAF BrawdyPembroke
Broughton MoorWorkington
RAF BurtonwoodWarrington, North
RAF CaerwentMonmouth
RAF ChelvestonBedfordshire, North
RAF ChilwellBroxtowe
FelixstoweSuffolk, Coastal
RAF FeltwellNorfolk, South-West
FramlinghamSuffolk, Coastal
Glen DouglasDumbarton
High Wycombe Air Station (Daws Hill)Wycombe
RAF HullavingtonWiltshire, North
RAF HytheRomsey and Waterside
RAF KembleCirencester and Tewkesbury
London USN Europe HQCity of London and Westminster, South
RAF MachrihanishArgyll and Bute
MarchwoodRomsey and Waterside
RAF Molesworth(2)Huntingdon
OakingtonCambridgeshire, South-East
RidgewellSaffron Walden
RAF RuislipRuislip-Northwood
RAF SpadeadamPenrith and The Border
RAF St. MawganCornwall, North
RAF UpwoodHuntingdon
RAF WelfordNewbury
RAF WaltonNorfolk, South-West


Contingency Wartime Hospitals

RAF Chessington(3)Surbiton
RAF Little RissingtonCirencester and Tewkesbury
RAF Nocton HallGrantham

Communications Facilities

AberdeenKincardine and Deeside
RAF Barford St. JohnBanbury
RAF BarkwayHertfordshire, North
Botley HillSurrey, East
BovingdonHertfordshire, South-West
RAF ChicksandsMid-Bedfordshire
Christmas CommonHenley
RAF CroughtonDaventry
RAF EdzellKincardine and Deeside
RAF FylingdalesRyedale
Great BromleyColchester, North
RAF InverbervieKincardine and Deeside
RAF KinnabeerAngus, East
LatheronCaithness and Sutherland
MartleshamSuffolk, Coastal
Menwith HillSkipton and Ripon
Mormond HillBanff and Buchan
Fort MurkleCaithness and Sutherland
RAF UxbridgeUxbridge


(1) Also base for ground-launched cruise missiles.

(2) Planned GLCM base as well as storage and property disposal facility used by the United States Department of Defence.

(3) RAF Chessington has recently been made available for use by the United States army as a peacetime storage facility and as a war time hospital.

Records of the locations of bases and facilities used by the Ministry of Defence and the armed services bases and facilities are not maintained in the form requested, and I regret that this information could be obtained only at disproportionate cost.

Royal ordnance factories are located in the following constituencies:


Royal ordnance factory, BurghfieldNewbury
Royal ordnance factory, CardiffCardiff North

The following factories and facilities were transferred to Royal Ordnance plc on 2 January 1985. I am advised that they are located in the following constituencies:


BishoptonRenfrew, West and Inverclyde
BlackburnRossendale and Darwen
EnfieldEnfield, North
FeatherstoneStaffordshire, South
LeedsLeeds, East
NottinghamNottingham, South
Radway GreenCongleton
SummerfieldWyre Forest
Waltham AbbeyEpping Forest

The royal dockyards are situated in the following constituencies:


RosythDunfermline, East
DevonportPlymouth, Devonport