Skip to main content

Defective Housing

Volume 113: debated on Wednesday 1 April 1987

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will place in the Official Report a list of the main prefabricated reinforced concrete house types covered by housing defects legislation, listing, in each case, the proportion of the estimated numbers of that type that has so far been repurchased by local authorities.

The following PRC house types are designated under the housing defects legislation:

  • Airey
  • Boot
  • Cornish Unit
  • Dorran
  • Dyke
  • Gregory
  • Myton
  • Newland
  • Orlit
  • Parkinson Frame
  • Reema Hollow Panel
  • Schindler and Hawksley SGS
  • Stent
  • Stonecrete
  • Tarran
  • Underdown
  • Unity and Butterley
  • Waller
  • Wates
  • Wessex
  • Winget
  • Woolaway
We estimate that some 23,000 private owners of PRC properties are eligible for assistance and that by end December 1986, local authorities in England had repurchased some 4,300 designated properties (including the Smith house type). Comprehensive information on repurchases by property type is not currently available.