Skip to main content

Carriers' Liability (Limits)

Volume 114: debated on Thursday 9 April 1987

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Transport which states have not ratified the Montreal protocols to the Warsaw convention to raise carriers' liability limits to 100 SDRs; and if he will make a statement.

The following states have ratified Montreal protocol No. 3 to the Warsaw convention, which will raise carriers' liability to 100,000 SRDs: the United Kingdom, Brazil, Portugal, The Netherlands, Colombia and Italy. It is open for other states to ratify if they wish.

asked the Secretary of State for Transport which states have entered into special contracts with their passengers to provide for higher limits of liability under the Warsaw convention.

Full details of other states' arrangements for passenger compensation are not available. I understand that most developed countries require their airlines, or at least their national carrier, to take out "special contracts" with their passengers at a level of about 100,000 SDRs. The latest information I have is:

Switzerland200,000 Swiss francs
Ireland, Norway, Sweden, Netherlands, Japan100,000 SDRs
Belgium90,000 SDRs
France, Portugal80,000 SDRs
Israel80 to 100,000 US dollars
West Germany58,000 US dollars
Canada300,000 Canadian dollars