Skip to main content

National Parks Authorities

Volume 115: debated on Thursday 7 May 1987

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the ministerial appointees on all the national park authorities and give their biographical details and their dates for reappointment.

The information in respect of the seven English national park authorities is as follows:

Dartmoor National Park Committee

  • Sir Charles Cave—1988
  • Landowner, Ex-President of CLA
  • Mr. S. Locke—1988
  • Director, South West Areas Museums Council
  • Mr. J. Turner—1988
  • Engineer, Member of Dartmoor Preservation Association
  • Mr. D. Powell—1989
  • Farmer
  • Mr. W. Scott—1989
  • Businessman-engineering
  • Mrs. F. Wilkinson—1990
  • Farmer
  • Mr. H. Williams—1990
  • Accountant

Exmoor National Park Committee

  • Mr. H. Malet—1988
  • Farmer
  • Mr. M. Scott—1988
  • Farmer
  • Mr. J. Workman—1988
  • Forestry advisor to National Trust
  • Mrs. K. Martin—1989
  • Former Chairman of SW Region of YHA
  • Mr. J. Roberts—1990
  • Director of West Country Tourist Board
  • Professor A. Straw—1990
  • Professor of Geography at University of Exeter
  • Mrs. R. Thomas—1990
  • College lecturer

Lake District Special Planning Board

  • Mrs. P. Walker—1988
  • Secretary of Windermere Civic Society
  • Mr. C. Barter—1988
  • Farmer
  • Mrs. K. Atkinson—1988
  • Member of RSPB, Works for Freshwater Biological Association
  • Mrs. J. Corlett—1989
  • Retired biologist, Chairman of Regional YHA
  • Mr. J. Baxter—1990
  • Principal at outdoor centre
  • Mr. P. Gordon-Duff-Pennington—1990
  • Landowner
  • Mr. G. Jackson—1990
  • Solicitor, Member of Friends of Lake District
  • Mrs. A. Hayton—1990
  • Farmer
  • Mr. A. Leeming—1990
  • Farmer and landowner
  • The Hon. R. Vane—1990
  • Landowner

Northumberland National Park and Countryside Committee

  • Professor G. Dickson—1988
  • Professsor of Agriculture at Newcastle University
  • Dr. A. Lunn—1988
  • Lecturer in geography and landscape at Newcastle University
  • Mr. J. Oliver—1988
  • Farmer
  • Mr. R. Spoor—1988
  • Accountant
  • Lord Vinson—1989
  • Farmer, Chairman of Development Commission
  • Mr. A. Tynan—1989
  • Curator, Hancock Museum
  • Dr. S. Linsley—1989
  • Lecturer in industrial archaeology at Newcastle University
  • Mr. I. Armstrong—1990
  • Regional Officer for RSPB
  • Mr. B. Hiley—1990
  • Retired senior retail manager

North York Moors National park Committee

  • Mrs. A. Cooper—1988
  • Conservation Officer—Cleveland Nature Conservation Trust
  • Mr. P. Fawcett—1988
  • Land agent
  • Mr. G. McGuire—1987
  • Retired Deputy Secretary, YHA
  • Mr. J. Sutcliffe—1988
  • Manager and partner of forestry and agricultural enterprise, Member of Civic Trust for North East
  • Mr. H. Ventress—1988
  • Farmer
  • Professor J. Patmore—1989
  • Professor of Geography—University of Hull
  • Mrs. B. Hood—1989
  • Secretary of local Ramblers Association
  • Viscount Downe—1990
  • Landowner and industrial manager
  • Mr. R. Pettigrew—1990
  • Educational advisor, Former President of British Mountaineering Council

Peak Park Joint Planning Board

  • Mrs. E. Andrews—1988
  • Runs a pony trekking establishment
  • Mr. K. Campbell—1988
  • Industrialist
  • Major-General P. Cavendish—1988
  • Retired Major General
  • Mr. C. Langford Mycock—1988
  • Farmer
  • Mr. L. Meadowcroft—1988
  • Retired Company Director, Ex-President of Manchester Area Ramblers Association
  • Mr. J. Cant—1989
  • YHA Warden and Warden Trainer
  • Mr. J. Elliott—1989
  • Farmer
  • Mrs. P. Mason—1990
  • President, Sheffield Association of University Women
  • Miss J. Robinson—1990
  • Deputy Head Teacher, Member of Ramblers Association
  • Mrs. J. Thornton—1990
  • Qualified teacher
  • Mr. M. Vallance—1990
  • Businessman, Former officer of Planning Board

Yorkshire Dales National Park Committee

  • Mr. L. Fallows—1988
  • Retired education advisor, Chairman, Friends of Dales Rail
  • Mr. H. Ramm—1988
  • Retired field investigator for Royal Commission on Historic Monuments
  • Miss M. Rooker—1988
  • Retired Polytechnic Librarian
  • Mr. J. Pearlman—1989
  • Hon. Solicitor to Ramblers' Association
  • Mr. D. Duffus—1990
  • Farmer
  • Dr. N. Roome—1990
  • Lecturer at University of Bradford, Secretary of West Yorkshire FWAG
  • Miss C. J. Hatcher—1990
  • Lecturer in history of architecture, Field worker for HBMC
  • Vacancy

All appointments expire on 31 March.

Appointments to the three Welsh national park authorities are the responsibility of my right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for Wales.