Skip to main content

Overseas Territories (British Troops)

Volume 124: debated on Wednesday 16 December 1987

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will list the countries in which Britain currently has troops.

The countries and dependencies in which there is a British military presence are as follows:

  • Ascension Island
  • Belize
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (Diego Garcia)
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Cyprus
  • Falkland Islands (including South Georgia)
  • Federal Republic of Germany (including Berlin)
  • Gibraltar
  • Hong Kong
  • Norway Sardinia
The list excludes loan service and seconded personnel serving in a number of countries and dependencies throughout the world, and those in NATO appointments.