Skip to main content

Royal Navy (Engineer Officers)

Volume 130: debated on Monday 28 March 1988

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence what action is taken by him to ensure that training for Royal Navy engineer officers takes account of developments in the wider engineering field.

Most Royal Navy engineer officers are trained to a degree standard at the Royal Naval engineering college (RNEC), Manadon. Like other higher education institutions, RNEC needs to keep itself informed of, and take into account as necessary, developments within its own sphere of activity. The mechanism for such communication and consultation is often provided by advisory bodies and it has, therefore, recently decided to form an advisory council for the RNEC with the following terms of reference:

"To advise the Admiralty Board, with particular regard to the role and work of the Royal Naval Engineering College on matters relating to:
  • (a) higher education and the award of first and second level degrees.
  • (b) national qualifications and training of Chartered Engineers; and
  • (c) research and funding thereof."
  • Professor Sir Hermann Bondi, KCB, FRS, has kindly accepted an invitation to serve as chairman of the advisory council, whose membership will include four ex officio representatives of the Ministry of Defence:

    • the Director General Naval Manpower and Training;
    • the Chief of Staff to the Commander-in-Chief Naval Home Command;
    • the Chief Naval Engineer Officer; and
    • the Deputy Chief Scientific Adviser.

    The following have also kindly accepted an invitation to serve on the advisory council:

    • Lord Caldecote KBE, DSC, FEng
    • Mr. T. N. Corkhill MSc, BSc, CEng, MRAeS
    • Professor B. Crossland CBE, MRIA, FEng, FRS
    • Professor D. E. N. Davies CBE, FEng, FRS
    • Professor M. G. Farley CEng, FRAeS, FIMechE, FIProdE, CBIM
    • Mr. A. Frodsham CBE
    • Professor W Gosling DSc
    • Dr. D. Harrison FEng
    • Mrs. J. A. G. Kennedy CEng
    • Mr. J. R. S. Morris CBE
    • Professor G. D. Sims OBE, DSc, LLD, FIFE, FEng.

    The inaugural meeting is planned to take place on 10 May 1988 at the college.