Skip to main content

Council Of Europe

Volume 131: debated on Wednesday 13 April 1988

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Prime Minister if she will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation for the 40th session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The 40th Session Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe will be opened in Strasbourg on 2 May 1988. The delegation from the United Kingdom for the Session will consist of eleven Members of the Conservative party, six Members of the Labour party and one Member of the Social Liberal and Democratic party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the Leaders of those parties concerned.The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union, which next meets in Paris on 6 June.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be:

My hon. Friend the Member for Hampstead and Highgate (Sir Geoffrey Finsberg)— who will act as leader of both delegations.
The hon. Members for:
  • Warwick and Leamington (Sir D. Smith)
  • Southampton, Test (Mr. Hill) (Government Whip)
  • Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)
  • Northampton, South (Mr. Morris)
  • Halesowen and Stourbridge (Mr. Stokes)
  • Ruislip-Northwood (Mr. Wilkinson)
  • Ashford (Mr. Speed)
  • Streatham (Mr. Shelton)
  • Medway (Dame P. Fenner)
  • The Earl of Kinnoull.

Representatives from the Labour Party will be:

The hon. Members for:
  • Neath (Mr. Coleman)
  • Wallsend (Mr. Garrett)
  • Wentworth (Mr. Hardy)
  • Tooting (Mr. Cox)
  • Liverpool, Riverside (Mr. Parry)
  • Falkirk, East (Mr. Ewing)

Representatives from the Social Liberal and Democratic Party will be:

The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir R. Johnston).
The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates.

From the Government Benches:

The hon. Members for:
  • Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson)
  • Eastwood (Mr. Stewart)
  • Norfolk, North (Mr. Howell)
  • Thanet, North (Mr. Gale)
  • Lewes (Mr. Rathbone)
  • Brighton, Kemptown (Mr. Bowden)
  • Suffolk, Central (Mr. Lord)
  • Ravensbourne (Mr. Hunt)
  • Lord Newall and Lord Rodney

From the Labour Party :

The hon. Members for:
  • Wansbeck (Mr. Thompson)
  • Manchester, Central (Mr. Litherland)
  • Don Valley (Mr. Redmond)
  • Warley, East (Mr. Faulds)
  • Lewisham, Deptford (Ms. Ruddock)
  • Cunninghame, South (Mr. Lambie)
  • Lord Kirkhill

From the Social Liberal and Democratic Party:

The Lord Mackie of Benshie