Skip to main content

Nationalised Industries

Volume 164: debated on Monday 18 December 1989

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Chancellor of the Exchequer if he will name each of the chairmen of the nationalised industries; and if he will give details of salaries and other remunerations applicable to each.

[pursuant to his reply 7 December 1989, columns 311–12]: I regret that there were errors in the table of my earlier reply. The correct information requested is set out in the following table.

ChairmanNationalised IndustrySalary1£
Sir Robert HaslamBritish Coal160,000
Sir Robert ReidBritish Railways Board90,950
Mr. C. CampbellBritish Shipbuilders21,675
Mr. D. IngmanBritish Waterways Board33,700
Mr. C. TugendhatCivil Aviation Authority60,000
Sir Philip JonesElectricity Council94,380
Lord MarshallCentral Electricity Generating Board111,000
Mr. J. C. SmithEastern Electricity Board57,390
Mr. J. F. HarrisEast Midlands Electricity Board57,390
Mr. J. J. WilsonLondon Electricity Board57,390
Mr. B. H. WestonMerseyside and North Wales Electricity Board57,390
Mr. B. S. TownsendMidlands Electricity Board57,390
Mr. D. MorrisNorth Eastern Electricity Board80,000
Mr. K. HarveyNorth Western Electricity Board49,005
Mr. G. A. SquairSouth Eastern Electricity Board57,390
Mr. D. A. RossSouthern Electricity Board57,390
Mr. J. W. EvansSouth Wales Electricity Board57,390
Mr. A. W. NicolSouth Western Electricity Board57,390
Mr. J. PorteousYorkshire Electricity Board57,390
Mr. W. NewtonLondon Regional Transport80,000
Mr. M. JoughinNorth of Scotland Hydro Electric Board39,750
Sir Bryan NicholsonPost Office102,000
Mr. I. S. IrwinScottish Transport Group59,825
Mr. D. J. MillerSouth of Scotland Electricity Board66,900
Mr. B. HendersonAnglian Water Plc243,860
Sir Michael StrakerNorthumbrian Water Group Plc230,638
Mr. W. GroveNorth West Water Group Plc261,275
Mr. J. BellakSevern Trent Plc249,020
Mr. W. CourtneySouthern Water Plc243,860
Mr. K. CourtSouth West Water Plc251,063
Mr. R. WattsThames Water Plc249,020
Mr. J. JonesWelsh Water Plc243,860
Mr. W. HoodWessex Water Plc240,850
Mr. G. JonesYorkshire Water Plc254,825

1 Actual salaries. Some Chairmen are part-time.

2 The 10 Water Authorities were vested as Companies Act companies owned by Government on 1 September, and privatised on 12 December.

Chairmen are also eligible for performance bonus schemes with a maximum limit of 25 per cent. of salary.