Skip to main content

Waste Disposal

Volume 164: debated on Thursday 11 January 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will publish in the Official Report those local authorities in England which have not submitted their waste disposal plans to his Department.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment how many waste disposal authorities in England have now deposited waste disposal plans with his Department, pursuant to the Control of Pollution Act 1974, and how many have not yet done so.

Forty-four authorities have now submitted either completed or draft plans while 15 single or groups of authorities have yet to submit a plan in any form. These 15 are listed below:

  • Essex
  • Nottingham
  • Shropshire
  • North London WA
  • City of London
  • City of Westminster
  • Tower Hamlets
  • Bexley
  • South London Waste Disposal Joint Committee (London Borough of Bromley, Croydon, Kingston upon Thames, Merton and Sutton)
  • Greater Manchester WDA
  • Barnsley
  • Doncaster
  • Rotherham
  • Sheffield
  • West Midlands Joint Committee (Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton District Councils)
I am considering further steps to ensure completion of the remaining plans.