Skip to main content

Meat Exports

Volume 165: debated on Wednesday 17 January 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food which countries refuse to accept (a) imported beef or (b) imported cattle, respectively, from the United Kingdom.

[holding answer 12 January 1990]: The information requested is as follows:

  • (a)Japan (because of import regulations concerning foot and mouth disease) and Papua New Guinea (only fresh meat originating in Australia or New Zealand may be imported).
  • (b)All EC Member States in relation to cattle born before 18 July 1988, Australia, Finland, Israel, New Zealand, Sweden and the United State of America (because of concerns about Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy).
  • In addition, Germany has imposed restrictive certification requirements on trade in beef from the United Kingdom which I do not believe are justified by Community rules.