Skip to main content

Boundary Commission

Volume 170: debated on Thursday 19 April 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Scotland whether the Boundary Commission for Scotland intends to conduct any further interim reviews of parliamentary constituencies; and if he will make a statement.

The Boundary Commission for Scotland has informed me that it intends to conduct interim reviews of 10 parliamentary constituencies under section 3 of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986. The constituencies are as follows:

  • Midlothian and Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale;
  • North Tayside, Perth and Kinross, and Stirling;
  • Motherwell North and Linlithgow; and
  • Edinburgh East, East Lothian and Midlothian.
I understand that the reviews have arisen from alterations to local authority boundaries which those of the parliamentary constituencies concerned no longer follow exactly.