Skip to main content

Council Of Europe

Volume 171: debated on Friday 27 April 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Prime Minister if she will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation for the 42nd session of the parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe.

The 42nd session parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe will be opened in Strasbourg on 7 May 1990. The delegation from the United Kingdom for the session will consist of 11 members of the Conservative party, six members of the Labour party and one member of the Liberal Democrats. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of those parties concerned.The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the assembly of the Western European Union, which next meets in Paris on 5 June.Representatives from the Conservative Benches will be my hon. Friend the Member for Hampstead and Highgate (Sir. G. Finsberg), who will act as leader of both delegations, and the hon. Members for Warwick and Leamington (Sir D. Smith), for Southampton, Test (Mr. Hill), for Twickenham (Mr. Jessel), for Northampton, South (Mr. Morris), for Halesowen and Stourbridge (Sir J. Stokes), for Ruislip-Northwood (Mr. Wilkinson), for Ashford (Mr. Speed), for Streatham (Sir W. Shelton), for Medway (Dame P. Fenner) and the Earl of Kinnoull.Representatives from the Labour party will be the hon. Members for Neath (Mr. Coleman), for Wallsend (Mr. Garrett), for Wentworth (Mr. Hardy), for Tooting (Mr. Cox), for Liverpool, Riverside (Mr. Parry), and for Falkirk, East (Mr. Ewing).Representatives from the Liberal Democrats will he the hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir R. Johnston).The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates. From the Conservative Benches, the hon. Members for Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson), for Broxbourne (Mrs. Roe), for Norfolk, North (Mr. Howell), for Poole (Mr. Ward, for Lewes (Mr. Rathbone), for Brighton, Kempton (Mr. Bowden), for Suffolk, Central (Mr. Lord), for Ravensbourne (Sir J. Hunt), Lord Newall and Lord Rodney.From the Labour Party, the hon. Members for Wansbeck (Mr.Thompson), for Manchester, Central (Mr.Litherland), for Don Valley (Mr. Redmond), for Warley,East (Mr. Faulds), for Newham, North-West (Mr. Banks),for Cunninghame, South (Mr. Lambie) and Lord Kirkhill.From the Liberal Democrats, Lord Mackie of Benshie.