Skip to main content

Regional Health Authority Chairmen

Volume 173: debated on Thursday 24 May 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Health whether he will make a statement on the appointment of regional health authority chairmen from 1 August.

The terms of office of 12 of the 14 regional health authority chairmen expire on 31 July 1990. I am pleased to announce that I have made four new appointments as follows:

  • Northern RHA: Peter Carr
  • North East Thames RHA: Tim Chessells
  • South Western RHA: Charles Stuart
  • Oxford RHA: Dr. Stuart Burgess
These appointments run until 31 July 1992.The chairmen of the following eight RHAs have accepted my invitation to serve in these most important positions for another four years each:

  • Yorkshire: Sir Bryan Askew
  • North West Thames: Mr. William Doughty
  • Trent: Sir Michael Carlisle
  • South West Thames RHA: Baroness Cumberlege of Newick
  • West Midlands RHA: Sir James Ackers
  • Mersey RHA: Sir Donald Wilson
  • North Western RHA: Mr. Bruce Martin
  • Wessex RHA: Mr. Robin Buchanan