Skip to main content

Home Renovation Grants

Volume 173: debated on Tuesday 5 June 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will give the estimated (a) spending and (b) spending in real terms on mandatory home renovation grants by each local authority for each year since 1979.

Since 1979 four types of home renovation grant have been available:

  • i. Improvement/conversion grants
  • ii. Repair Grants
  • iii Intermediate grants
  • iv Special grants
  • All intermediate grants are mandatory, as are those special grants and repair grants for works carried out in compliance with statutory notices served under housing legislation. It is not possible from data available centrally to estimate the total breakdown between mandatory and discretionary grants.However, some information on the amounts paid on completed grants by type and by local authority is published for the years 1983 to 1988 in "Welsh Housing Statistics" Nos. 4 to 9, copies of which are available in the Library of the House.