Skip to main content

Nuclear Technology

Volume 174: debated on Thursday 14 June 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy which countries, not being signatories of the non-proliferation treaty, have received nuclear technology from the United Kingdom since 1985.

No export licence has been issued since 1985 for the export of nuclear technology to countries which are not signatories to the non-proliferation treaty. The guidelines for all United Kingdom nuclear exports remain as set out by the then Foreign Secretary now Lord Callaghan on 31 March 1976 at columns 514–16, which has been reaffirmed by the Prime Minister. These guidelines ensure that our nuclear exports are fully consistent with our international non-proliferation obligations under the non-proliferation treaty.