Skip to main content


Volume 175: debated on Monday 2 July 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

Motion made, and Question put forthwith pursuant to Standing Order No. 101(5) (Standing Committees on Statutory Instruments, &c.),

That the draft Insurance Companies (Amendment) Regulations 1990, which were laid before this House on 8th June, be approved.— [Mr. Patnick.]

The House divided: Ayes 93, Noes 8.

Division No. 280]

[2.14 am


Alison, Rt Hon MichaelAmess, David
Allason, RupertArnold, Jacques (Gravesham)

Ashby, DavidHogg, Hon Douglas (Gr'th'm)
Baker, Nicholas (Dorset N)Howarth, G. (Cannock & B'wd)
Batiste, SpencerHowe, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey
Beith, A. J.Hughes, Robert G. (Harrow W)
Bellingham, HenryIrvine, Michael
Bennett, Nicholas (Pembroke)Jack, Michael
Boswell, TimJanman, Tim
Bowis, JohnKing, Roger (B'ham N'thfield)
Brandon-Bravo, MartinKnapman, Roger
Brazier, JulianKnight, Greg (Derby North)
Bright, GrahamKnowles, Michael
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Cl't's)Lennox-Boyd, Hon Mark
Browne, John (Winchester)Lightbown, David
Burt, AlistairLilley, Peter
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)Lord, Michael
Carrington, MatthewMaclean, David
Chalker, Rt Hon Mrs LyndaMcLoughlin, Patrick
Chapman, SydneyMalins, Humfrey
Chope, ChristopherMaxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Clark, Dr Michael (Rochford)Mayhew, Rt Hon Sir Patrick
Coombs, Anthony (Wyre F'rest)Mitchell, Andrew (Gedling)
Coombs, Simon (Swindon)Mitchell, Sir David
Cran, JamesMoate, Roger
Currie, Mrs EdwinaMorrison, Sir Charles
Davies, Q. (Stamf'd & Spald'g)Moss, Malcolm
Day, StephenNorris, Steve
Devlin, TimOppenheim, Phillip
Douglas-Hamilton, Lord JamesPaice, James
Durant, TonyRedwood, John
Fallon, MichaelRenton, Rt Hon Tim
Fookes, Dame JanetRowe, Andrew
Forsyth, Michael (Stirling)Shaw, David (Dover)
Forth, EricShepherd, Colin (Hereford)
Franks, CecilSmith, Tim (Beaconsfield)
Freeman, RogerStern, Michael
Gale, RogerStewart, Allan (Eastwood)
Garel-Jones, TristanStradling Thomas, Sir John
Glyn, Dr Sir AlanSummerson, Hugo
Goodlad, AlastairTaylor, John M (Solihull)
Gow, IanThompson, Patrick (Norwich N)
Greenway, John (Ryedale)Viggers, Peter
Hamilton, Neil (Tatton)Widdecombe, Ann
Hampson, Dr Keith
Hanley, Jeremy

Tellers for the Ayes:

Harris, David

Mr. Irvine Patnick and

Hayward, Robert

Mr. Timothy Wood.

Hind, Kenneth


Barnes, Harry (Derbyshire NE)Nellist, Dave
Bell, StuartSkinner, Dennis
Godman, Dr Norman A.
Haynes, Frank

Tellers for the Noes:

Hinchliffe, David

Mr. Bob Cryer and

Lofthouse, Geoffrey

Mr. Ian McCartney.

Question accordingly agreed to.