Skip to main content


Volume 176: debated on Wednesday 18 July 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs from which European countries visitors to the United Kingdom are required to have visas; and what plans he has for removing these restrictions on a country-by-country basis.

Visitors to the United Kingdom from the following European countries require visas:

  • Albania
  • Bulgaria
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Hungary
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Soviet Union
  • Turkey
We have no plans to abolish visas for Turkey, which were only recently imposed—in June 1989. We welcome the moves towards greater democracy and the freer movement of people in eastern Europe. We are examining our visa policies towards these countries on a case-by-case basis, in the light of developments, and keeping in touch with our European Community partners.