Skip to main content

Select Committee On European Legislation

Volume 178: debated on Wednesday 24 October 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

Motion made, and Question put,

That with effect from the beginning of the next Session of Parliament Standing Order No. 127 (Select Committee on European Legislation) be amended by leaving out paragraph (1) and inserting:

(1) There shall be a select committee, to be called the Select Committee on European Legislation, to examine European Community Documents and—

  • (a) to report its opinion on the legal and political importance of each such document and, where it considers appropriate, to report also on the reasons for its opinion and on any matters of principle, policy or law which may be affected;
  • (b) to make recommendations for the further consideration of any such document pursuant to Standing Order No. 102 (European Standing Committees); and
  • (c) to consider any issue arising upon any such document or group of documents.
  • The expression 'European Community Documents' means—

  • (i) any proposal under the Community Treaties for legislation by the Council of Ministers;
  • (ii) any document which is published for submission to the European Council or the Council of Ministers;
  • (iii) any document (not falling within (ii) above) which is published by one Community institution for or with a view to submission to another Community institution and which does not relate exclusively to consideration of any proposal for legislation;
  • (iv) any other document relating to European Community matters deposited in the House by a Minister of the Crown.—[Sir Geoffrey Howe.]
  • The House divided: Ayes 170, Noes 2.

    Division No. 336]

    [7.35 pm


    Abbott, Ms DianeBanks, Tony(Newham NW)
    Allen, GrahamBarnes, Harry(Derbyshire NE)
    Arbuthnot, JamesBarron, Kevin
    Arnold, Jacques(Gravesham)Beggs, Roy
    Arnold, Sir ThomasBendall, Vivian
    Atkins, RobertBennett, Nicholas(Pembroke)
    Atkinson, DavidBenyon, W.
    Baker, Rt Hon K.(Mole Valley)Boscawen, Hon Robert

    Boswell, TimKey, Robert
    Bottomley, PeterKilfedder, James
    Bottomley, Mrs VirginiaKing, Roger(B'ham N'thfield)
    Bowis, JohnKirkhope, Timothy
    Brazier, JulianKnapman, Roger
    Bright, GrahamKnight, Greg(Derby North)
    Brooke, Rt Hon PeterKnowles, Michael
    Brown, Michael(Brigg & Cl't's)Lawrence, Ivan
    Browne, John(Winchester)Lester, Jim(Broxtowe)
    Buckley, George J.Lightbown, David
    Budgen, NicholasLilley, Peter
    Burns, SimonLivsey, Richard
    Butler, ChrisLloyd, Peter(Fareham)
    Carlisle, Kenneth(Lincoln)Lofthouse, Geoffrey
    Carrington, MatthewLord, Michael
    Cash, WilliamLyell, Rt Hon Sir Nicholas
    Channon, Rt Hon PaulMcKay, Allen(Barnsley West)
    Chapman, SydneyMacKay, Andrew(E Berkshire)
    Chope, ChristopherMaclean, David
    Churchill, MrMcLoughlin, Patrick
    Clark, Hon Alan(Plym'th S'n)McNair-Wilson, Sir Michael
    Conway, DerekMans, Keith
    Coombs, Anthony(Wyre F'rest)Maples, John
    Coombs, Simon(Swindon)Martin, David(Portsmouth S)
    Cope, Rt Hon JohnMellor, David
    Cormack, PatrickMichie, Bill(Sheffield Heeley)
    Couchman, JamesMitchell, Andrew(Gedling)
    Curry, DavidMorrison, Rt Hon P(Chester)
    Dalyell, TamMoss, Malcolm
    Davies, Q.(Stamf'd & Spald'g)Moynihan, Hon Colin
    Dixon, DonNeedham, Richard
    Douglas-Hamilton, Lord JamesNeubert, Michael
    Dover, DenNewton, Rt Hon Tony
    Emery, Sir PeterNicholson, David(Taunton)
    Fallon, MichaelNorris, Steve
    Flynn, PaulO'Brien, William
    Forsythe, Clifford(Antrim S)Page, Richard
    Forth, EricPaice, James
    Freeman, RogerPatnick, Irvine
    Gale, RogerPatten, Rt Hon John
    Garel-Jones, TristanPortillo, Michael
    Glyn, Dr Sir AlanPrimarolo, Dawn
    Godman, Dr Norman A.Raffan, Keith
    Golding, Mrs LlinRedwood, John
    Goodlad, AlastairRiddick, Graham
    Goodson-Wickes, Dr CharlesRoberts, Sir Wyn(Conwy)
    Graham, ThomasRyder, Richard
    Greenway, Harry(Ealing N)Sackville, Hon Tom
    Greenway, John(Ryedale)Sainsbury, Hon Tim
    Griffiths, Peter(Portsmouth N)Salmond, Alex
    Grist, IanShaw, Sir Giles(Pudsey)
    Hague, WilliamShaw, Sir Michael(Scarb')
    Hamilton, Neil(Tatton)Shelton, Sir William
    Hanley, JeremyShepherd, Colin(Hereford)
    Hargreaves, A.(B'ham H'll Gr')Sillars, Jim
    Harris, DavidSmith, Tim(Beaconsfield)
    Hawkins, ChristopherSpearing, Nigel
    Hayhoe, Rt Hon Sir BarneySpicer, Sir Jim(Dorset W)
    Heathcoat-Amory, DavidSteen, Anthony
    Heseltine, Rt Hon MichaelStewart, Andy(Sherwood)
    Hind, KennethSummerson, Hugo
    Home Robertson, JohnTaylor, Ian(Esher)
    Hood, JimmyTaylor, Rt Hon J. D.(S'ford)
    Hordern, Sir PeterTaylor, John M(Solihull)
    Howarth, Alan(Strat'd-on-A)Taylor, Matthew(Truro)
    Howarth, G.(Cannock & B'wd)Tebbit, Rt Hon Norman
    Howe, Rt Hon Sir GeoffreyThompson, D.(Calder Valley)
    Howells, GeraintThompson, Patrick(Norwich N)
    Howells, Dr. Kim (Pontypridd)Tracey, Richard
    Hughes, John(Coventry NE)Wells, Bowen
    Hughes, Robert G.(Harrow W)Welsh, Andrew(Angus E)
    Hughes, Simon(Southwark)Wheeler, Sir John
    Hunt, David(Wirral W)Wise, Mrs Audrey
    Illsley, EricWoodcock, Dr. Mike
    Irvine, MichaelYoung, Sir George(Acton)
    Jack, Michael
    Jackson, Robert

    Tellers for the Ayes:

    Jopling, Rt Hon Michael

    Mr. Nicholas Baker and Mr. Timothy Wood.
    Kellett-Bowman, Dame Elaine


    Patchett, Terry

    Tellers for the Noes:

    Skinner, Dennis

    Mr. Bob Cryer and Mr. Peter L. Pike.

    Question accordingly agreed to.