Skip to main content

Notices Of Questions, Motions And Amendments

Volume 178: debated on Wednesday 24 October 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

(1)—Notices of questions shall be given by Members in writing to the Table Office.

(2) A notice of a question, or of an amendment to a motion standing on the Order Paper for which no day has been fixed or of the addition of a name in support of such a motion or amendment, which is given after half-past ten o'clock in the evening shall be treated for all purposes as if it were a notice handed in after the rising of the House.

(3) A Member shall indicate on the notice of any question whether it is for oral, written or priority written answer.

(4) Where a Member has indicated that a question is for priority written answer the Minister shall cause an answer to be given to the Member on the date for which notice has been given, provided that the requirement of notice shall be the same for such questions as that prescribed in this order for questions for oral answer.

(5) Notice of a question for oral answer may not be given on a day earlier than ten sitting days before the day for answer, provided that, where that earliest day would otherwise fall on a Friday, the earliest day on which such notice may be given will instead be the previous sitting day.

(6) Notice of any question for oral answer must appear at latest on the notice paper circulated two days (excluding Saturday and Sunday) before that on which an answer is desired.

(7) When it is proposed that the House shall adjourn for a period of less than four days, any day during that period (other than a Saturday or Sunday) shall be counted as a sitting day for the purpose of calculating the period in paragraph (5) of this order.

(8) When notice shall have been given of a Motion for the adjournment of the House for more than three days Mr. Speaker may cause to have printed and circulated with the Vote a memorandum superseding the provisions of paragraphs (5) and (6) of this order and instead setting out the earliest day on which notice of questions for oral answer may be given for each of the first ten sitting days after that adjournment, provided that each such day shall as far as practicable fall on the same day of the week as that on which the question is to be answered and shall not be fewer than fourteen days before the day for answer; and also setting out the latest day for notice of questions for oral answer on each of the first two sitting days following that adjournment provided that each such day shall not be fewer than two days (excluding Saturday and Sunday) before the day for answer.— [Sir Geoffrey Howe.]

The House divided: Ayes 218, Noes 2.

Division No. 334]

[7.13 p.m


Aitken, JonathanDouglas-Hamilton, Lord James
Allen, GrahamDover, Den
Arbuthnot, JamesDunn, Bob
Arnold, Jacques(Gravesham)Emery, Sir Peter
Arnold, Sir ThomasFallon, Michael
Atkins, RobertFavell, Tony
Atkinson, DavidFearn, Ronald
Baker, Rt Hon K.(Mole Valley)Flannery, Martin
Baker, Nicholas(Dorset N)Flynn, Paul
Baldry, TonyFookes, Dame Janet
Banks, Tony(Newham NW)Forsyth, Michael(Stirling)
Barron, KevinForsythe, Clifford(Antrim S)
Beaumont-Dark, AnthonyForth, Eric
Beggs, RoyFox, Sir Marcus
Bendall, VivianFreeman, Roger
Bennett, Nicholas(Pembroke)Gale, Roger
Bermingham, GeraldGardiner, George
Bevan, David GilroyGarel-Jones, Tristan
Boscawen, Hon RobertGlyn, Dr Sir Alan
Boswell, TimGodman, Dr Norman A.
Bottomley, PeterGolding, Mrs Llin
Bottomley, Mrs VirginiaGoodlad, Alastair
Bright, GrahamGoodson-Wickes, Dr Charles
Brooke, Rt Hon PeterGreenway, Harry(Ealing N)
Brown, Michael(Brigg & Cl't's)Greenway, John(Ryedale)
Browne, John(Winchester)Griffiths, Peter(Portsmouth N)
Bruce, Ian(Dorset South)Griffiths, Win(Bridgend)
Budgen, NicholasGrist, Ian
Burns, SimonGrylls, Michael
Butcher, JohnHague, William
Butler, ChrisHanley, Jeremy
Carlisle, John,(Luton N)Hannam, John
Carlisle, Kenneth(Lincoln)Hargreaves, A.(B'ham H'll Gr')
Carrington, MatthewHarris, David
Cash, WilliamHawkins, Christopher
Channon, Rt Hon PaulHayhoe, Rt Hon Sir Barney
Chapman, SydneyHeathcoat-Amory, David
Clark, Hon Alan(Plym'th S'n)Hicks, Mrs Maureen(Wolv' NE)
Colvin, MichaelHicks, Robert(Cornwall SE)
Conway, DerekHill, James
Coombs, Simon(Swindon)Hind, Kenneth
Cope, Rt Hon JohnHome Robertson, John
Corbett, RobinHood, Jimmy
Corbyn, JeremyHordern, Sir Peter
Cormack, PatrickHowarth, Alan(Strat'd-on-A)
Cryer, BobHowarth, G.(Cannock & B'wd)
Curry, DavidHowe, Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey
Dalyell, TamHowells, Geraint
Davis, David(Boothferry)Howells, Dr. Kim (Pontypridd)
Dixon, DonHughes, John(Coventry NE)
Dorrell, StephenHughes, Robert G.(Harrow W)

Hughes, Simon(Southwark)Paice, James
Hunt, David(Wirral W)Patchett, Terry
Hunter, AndrewPatnick, Irvine
Hurd, Rt Hon DouglasPatten, Rt Hon John
Irvine, MichaelPawsey, James
Jack, MichaelPeacock, Mrs Elizabeth
Jackson, RobertPortillo, Michael
Janman, TimPrimarolo, Dawn
Jones, Ieuan(Ynys Môn)Quin, Ms Joyce
Jopling, Rt Hon MichaelRaffan, Keith
Kellett-Bowman, Dame ElaineRedwood, John
Key, RobertRenton, Rt Hon Tim
Kilfedder, JamesRiddick, Graham
King, Roger(B'ham N'thfield)Ridley, Rt Hon Nicholas
Kirkhope, TimothyRoberts, Sir Wyn(Conwy)
Knapman, RogerRooker, Jeff
Knight, Dame Jill(Edgbaston)Rost, Peter
Knowles, MichaelRyder, Richard
Knox, DavidSainsbury, Hon Tim
Lamont, Rt Hon NormanSalmond, Alex
Lawrence, IvanScott, Rt Hon Nicholas
Lee, John(Pendle)Shaw, David(Dover)
Lightbown, DavidShaw, Sir Giles(Pudsey)
Lilley, PeterShaw, Sir Michael(Scarb')
Lloyd, Peter(Fareham)Sheerman, Barry
Lofthouse, GeoffreyShelton, Sir William
Lord, MichaelShephard, Mrs G.(Norfolk SW)
Lyell, Rt Hon Sir NicholasShepherd, Colin(Hereford)
McKay, Allen(Barnsley West)Sillars, Jim
MacKay, Andrew(E Berkshire)Skeet, Sir Trevor
Maclean, DavidSkinner, Dennis
McLoughlin, PatrickSmith, Tim(Beaconsfield)
McNair-Wilson, Sir MichaelSpearing, Nigel
Madden, MaxSpicer, Sir Jim(Dorset W)
Major, Rt Hon JohnStanbrook, Ivor
Malins, HumfreySteen, Anthony
Mans, KeithStewart, Allan(Eastwood)
Maples, JohnStewart, Andy(Sherwood)
Marshall, Jim(Leicester S)Summerson, Hugo
Martin, David(Portsmouth S)Taylor, Ian(Esher)
Mates, MichaelTaylor, Rt Hon J. D.(S'ford)
Maude, Hon FrancisTaylor, John M(Solihull)
Meale, AlanTebbit, Rt Hon Norman
Michael, AlunThompson, Patrick(Norwich N)
Michie, Bill(Sheffield Heeley)Tracey, Richard
Mitchell, Andrew(Gedling)Trotter, Neville
Mitchell, Sir DavidWakeham, Rt Hon John
Molyneaux, Rt Hon JamesWaller, Gary
Morrison, Rt Hon P(Chester)Wells, Bowen
Moss, MalcolmWelsh, Andrew(Angus E)
Moynihan, Hon ColinWheeler, Sir John
Needham, RichardWise, Mrs Audrey
Nellist, DaveWood, Timothy
Neubert, MichaelWoodcock, Dr. Mike
Newton, Rt Hon TonyYeo, Tim
Nicholson, David(Taunton)Young, Sir George(Acton)
Norris, Steve
O'Brien, William

Tellers for the Ayes:

Orme, Rt Hon Stanley

Mr. Greg Knight and Mr. Neil Hamilton.

Page, Richard


Davies, Ron(Caerphilly)

Tellers for the Noes:

Graham, Thomas

Mr. Harry Barnes and Mr. George Buckley.

Question accordingly agreed to.