Skip to main content

Nature Conservation

Volume 181: debated on Wednesday 21 November 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Wales if he will list those sites which (i) have been designated or (ii) meet the criteria for designation as (a) special protection areas under the European Community directive on the conservation of wild birds, or (b) Ramsar sites under the convention on wetlands of international importance.

The designation of SPA and Ramsar sites is the responsibility of my right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for the Environment. Welsh sites are designated in consultation with me.

In Wales three SPAs, Skokholm and Skomer—part—Dee estuary and Grassholm, and two Ramsar sites, Dee estuary and Cors Fochno, have been designated.

I understand that the NCC has so far identified 11 sites, in Wales, which it considers meet the SPA criteria and 10 which meet the Ramsar conditions. These are:

  • Llyn Idwal (Gwynedd) Ramsar
  • Llyn Tegid (Gwynedd) Ramsar
  • Cors Caron (Dyfed) Ramsar
  • Corsydd Mon/Lleyn (Dyfed) Ramsar
  • Crumlin Bog (Gwent) Ramsar
  • Migneint (Gwynedd) Ramsar
  • Midland Meres Mires (Clwyd) Ramsar
  • Burry Inlet (Dyfed/West Glamorgan) Ramsar and SPA
  • Severn Estuary (part) (South Glamorgan/Gwent) Ramsar and SPA
  • Carmarthen Bay (Dyfed/West Glamorgan) Ramsar and SPA
  • Skokholm and Skomer (part) (Dyfed) SPA
  • Glannau Aberdaron/Ynys Enlli (Gwynedd) SPA
  • Ynys Feurig, Cemlyn Bay and the Skerries (Gwynedd) SPA
  • Glannau Ynys Gybi (Gwynedd) SPA
  • Traeth Lafan (Gwynedd) SPA
  • Pembrokeshire Cliffs (Dyfed) SPA
  • Elenydd Mallaen (Powys) SPA
  • Berwyn (Gwynedd) SPA