Skip to main content

Horserace Totalisator Board

Volume 181: debated on Wednesday 28 November 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list (a) the qualifications and (b) the dates of original appointment of members of the Horserace Totalisator Board.

Board members are appointed by the Home Secretary under section 12(2) of the Betting, Gaming and Lotteries Act 1963; there are no statutory qualifications for appointment to the board, although appointment as an executive member of the board is in practice contingent upon employment by the Horserace Totalisator Board in an executive capacity. Considerations influencing the selection of non-executive members include what commercial or other relevant experience they may bring to the board.The current members of the board, the dates of their original appointments, and their occupations, as detailed in the Tote's annual report and accounts, are as follows:Lord Wyatt of Weeford—Member 1 November 1975, chairman 1 May 1976, Director of Satellite Information Services Ltd.Lord Swaythling—Member 1 October 1981, chairman of Rothmans International plc, a member of the board of Banking Supervision of the Bank of England, and a non-executive director of the Daily Telegraph plc. Racehorse owner.Mr. P. Winfield FRICS–Member 1 October 1981, Formerly senior partner of Healey & Baker until 1988 and continues to act as a full-time consultant. Chairman of Letinvest plc. and the London Auction Mart Limited, a non-executive director of Manders (Holdings) plc. and a special trustee of Guy's Hospital. Racehorse owner.Mr. J. Sanders on FCA—Member 1 August 1983, clerk of the course at Doncaster and Catterick Bridge and a director of Thirsk, Wetherby and Phoenix Park, Dublin. He also has business interests in televised sport and leisure.Mr. B. McDonnell CA—Executive member 1 November 1990, chief executive of the Tote.