Skip to main content

Single European Language

Volume 181: debated on Friday 30 November 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Prime Minister what is Her Majesty's Government's policy towards the promotion by the European Community of an officially approved single language throughout Europe.

The Government are not aware of any such proposal in the Community. The official languages of the Community (Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish) have equal status under the treaty.