Skip to main content

National Health Service (Compensation)

Volume 182: debated on Wednesday 5 December 1990

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

Mrs. Rosie Barnes, supported by Mr. Jack Ashley, Mr. John Cartwright, Mr. Tom Clarke, Mr. Frank Field, Ms. Harriet Harman, Mr. Charles Kennedy, Mr. Archy Kirkwood, Sir Michael McNair-Wilson, Mr. Alfred Morris, Dr. David Owen and Mrs. Ann Winterton, presented a Bill to provide that persons injured, distressed or subjected to unnecessary pain or suffering during care by the National Health Service may be awarded compensation without having to prove negligence on the part of the National Health Service; to define eligibility for compensation; to establish a Medical Injury Compensation Board and to make other provision for the assessment of eligibility and payment of compensation; and for connected purposes: And the same was read the First time; and ordered to be read a Second time on Friday 1 February and to be printed. [Bill 21.]