Skip to main content

Immigration Rules

Volume 202: debated on Tuesday 21 January 1992

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he intends to make changes in the immigration rules.

I have today laid before Parliament a statement of changes in the immigration rules which adds to the list of countries and territorial entities whose nationals need visas for the United Kingdom, the following former constituent republics of the Soviet Union: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kirgizstan, Moldovia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan. The effect of this will be to ensure that those Soviet nationals who required visas continue to do so. At the same time the opportunity has been taken to remove from the list the United States Pacific trust territories for which a visa requirement is no longer necessary.