Skip to main content

Eastern Europe

Volume 204: debated on Friday 28 February 1992

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will set out the new organisational structure within his Department for dealing with Eastern Europe and the area covered by the former Soviet Union.

Relations with Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania, Yugoslavia, Croatia, Slovenia and Albania are handled by the central European department. Relations with the States formerly in the Soviet Union are handled by the eastern department. Both departments have been reinforced to take account of changes within these areas. The joint assistance unit was created in 1989 to administer the know-how fund, and has been increased over the past year to deal with important additional work in the former Soviet Union.