Skip to main content

Court Of Appeal

Volume 205: debated on Tuesday 10 March 1992

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list the cases he has referred to the Court of Appeal under section 17 of the Criminal Appeal Act 1968 since 1982 and the outcome in each case.

Since 1982 to 31 December 1991 the following cases have been referred to the Court of Appeal under Section 17(1)(a) of the Criminal Appeal Act 1968 with the result as indicated.

In respect of conviction:
Year and nameResult
Saltman, Bernard BrianAllowed
Tarrant, Edward CharlesAllowed
Wakefield, Ian FergusonAllowed
Neal, John Stephen
Woods, Bernard John
Cousins, Alverstone EdmondAllowed
Todd, Percival George
Bhaskar, Vinod KumarAllowed
Russell, Mervyn John ScottAllowed
Abrol, Kewal KrishanAllowed
McDonagh, MichaelDismissed
McDonagh, Patrick
Harrison, MelvynDismissed
Copeland, William IanDismissed
Mycock, GeoffreyAllowed
Gilfellan, Ian CharlesAllowed
Hartley, HugoDismissed

Act 1971. Those regulations will generally apply to every place in which one or more persons work and come into force on 1 January 1993. There will, however, be an extensive public consultation exercise before they are made.